Agricultural Economics Department Undergraduate Awards and Scholarships for 2019-2020

The 2019-20 Department of Agricultural Economics Undergraduate Awards Program was cancelled due to COVID-19.  However; we would like to recognize the student leadership and scholarship recipients.

Student Leadership:


Agricultural Economics Envoy Team

Keith Altman

Lauren Bush

Kayla Carder

Zeb Davis

Katarina Emerich

Kayla Fogg

Trenton Howard

Matthew Jaeger

Morgan Lambrecht

Sara Lechlider

Anna Long

Dalton Smith

Emma Swain


Agribusiness Club Officers

Emma Wischmeier, President

Laira Myers, Treasurer

Emma Melcher, Secretary

Rylee Briel, Promotional

Kayla Carder, Fundraising

Riley Garner, Fundraising

Jason Convey, Ag Week Co-Chair

Caroline Martin, Ag Week Co-Chair

Cody Cornell, Ag Council Representative


2020 National Agri-Marketing Association Team

Jacob Madden, President

Adam Leising, Vice President of Finance

Dayna Kyler, Vice President of Logisitcs

Gracen Jarrett, Vice President of Marketing

Luke Lael, Vice President of Social Media

Mallory Minnick, Vice President of Recruitment

Tommy Gutwein, Vice President of Fundraising

Noah Radde, Presentation Team

Gracen Jarrett, Presentation Team

Mallory Minnick, Presentation Team

Dayna Kyler, Presentation Team

Luke Lael, Presentation Team

Sydney Klaveano, Presentation Team

Jacob Madden, Presentation Team


2020 AAEA Quiz Bowl Team

Austin Berenda

Nicholas Bowser

Josephine Cameron

Pete Drost

Halee Fisher

Mason Gordon

Matthew Lucas

Kathleen Trimble

Bennett Walther


2020-21 Mortar Board Class

Dane Erickson

Kayla Fogg

Trenton Howard

Sara Lechlinder

Chaela Minor


2020-21 Farm Credit Services College Leaders Scholars Program

Molly Grotjan

Zoey Nobbe

Cole Pearson

Heidi Speer


2020-21 Agriculture Future of America (AFA) Student Ambassador

Grace Hasler

Purdue Student Government College of Ag Senator

Mason Gordon

Scholarship Recipients:

The Department of Agricultural Economics also distributed over $168,000 in scholarship dollars to the following 2020-21 scholarship recipients including 16 returning recipients of the Dr. Leland Edward Ott Memorial Scholarships:

Bartlett Family Scholarship – Miriam Cook

Brent and Stacy Bible Scholarship – Pete Drost, Stewart Douglas

Chrissie Cartmell Scholarship – Gloria Koester, Marguerite Thomas

Dr. Clarence F. Jr. and Martha E. Davan Scholarship – Jaiden Tribbett

R. Dean Dyson Scholarship – Jacob Ripberger

Erickson Memorial ICM Scholarship – Kathleen Trimble, Austin Ziliak,

Farmers National Company Foundation Scholarship – Morgan Churchill

Leighton M. & Helen May Geyer Scholarship – Dawson Jacoby

Lowell S. Hardin Scholarship for International Studies – Christina Crawford, Dane Erickson

Hartman Family  Scholarship  - Loggan Drake

Jim and Neta Hicks Undergraduate Scholarship –  Nicholas Bowser, Dane Erickson, Halee Fisher, Kayla Fogg, Grace Hasler, Blake Hinch, Chaela Minor, Cole Pearson

Indiana Challenge Match for Agricultural Economics – Austin Erdman

Indiana Challenge Scholarship for Agricultural Economics – Grant Hackman

Marshall A. Martin Public Policy Scholarship – Nathan Smith

Nidlinger Family Scholarship – Brooke Evans

Raymond "Mick" Ortman Scholarship in Agricultural Economics – Doug Abney, Ethan Wischmeier

Scholarship Fund for Agricultural Economics – Laura Barrett, Nathan Blume, Jacob Madden, Jordan Michel, Ashley Porter

Syngenta Ag Scholarship – Trenton Howard, Jessica Peterson, Heidi Speer

Dr. William & Helen Uhrig Education Scholarship – Austin Berenda, Bennett Walther

F Van Smith Scholarship – Osanna Koester

Donald and Joyce Villwock Scholarship – Dylan Johnson, Zach Goebel

Ag Econ Wilcox Family International Studies Scholarship  -  Dayna Kyler

Zeller Scholarship in Agricultural Economics – Rylee Briel


Outstanding Student Award:

Every year, the Department of Agricultural Economics must select one student from each class to compete for the College Outstanding Freshman, Sophomore, Junior, and Senior Awards.  In addition, the department recognizes the graduating senior with the highest academic g.p.a. with the Top Senior Scholar Award.  This year, the department selected the following students:

Department of Agricultural Economics Outstanding Freshmen –  Halee Fisher

Department of Agricultural Economics Outstanding Sophomore  - Cole Pearson

Department of Agricultural Economics Outstanding Junior –  Kayla  Fogg

Top Senior Scholar –  Stephen Schwartz, Noah Radde

David and Stacy Hefty Agricultural Economics Outstanding Senior – Stephen Schwartz

Agricultural Economics, 403 West State Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907 USA, (765) 494-4191

© Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Agricultural Communication

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at so we can help.

Sign In