Crops & the Changing Environment  

We are on the cutting edge of research to adapt crops to the ever-changing environment. We are developing cropping systems technology to provide a competitive edge for Indiana farmers and the agriculture industry to help feed Indiana, America, and the world on fewer acres of agricultural land. Our expertise includes environmental sustainability through cropping systems, developing responsible fertilizer and pesticide practices to increase crop yields and reduce contamination, creating and using precision farming technologies, and reducing greenhouse gases through innovative cropping systems.  The genetic discoveries we make will feed the world, improve human nutrition, and provide new uses for plants such as biofuels, building products, and substitutes for plastics.

  • Develop Resilient Crop Production Practices

  • Improve Crops Globally Through Genetics, Genomics, and Breeding

  • Enhance Nutritional & Industrial Quality ​

Faculty in Crops & the Changing Environment

Go back to graduate student research areas​ 

no picture 
Joseph Anderson
Plant Molecular Genetics
(765) 494-4774
janderson@purdue.edu

no picture 
Shaun Casteel
Soybean Production
(765) 494-0895
scasteel@purdue.edu
 
Phil DeVillez
Purdue Crop Performance Program
(765) 583-1406
pld@purdue.edu 
 
Gebisa Ejeta 
Sorghum Genetics & Breeding
(765) 494-4320
gejeta@purdue.edu
 
Bruce Erickson 
Distance Education & 
Outreach Director
(765) 494-7540
berickso@purdue.edu

 Corey Gerber
Corey Gerber
Diagnostic Training & Research Center
(765) 496-3755
cgerber@purdue.edu
 
Karen Hudson (USDA/ARS)
Plant Molecular Genetics
(765) 494-8057
kkaczoro@purdue.edu
 
Yiwei Jiang
Turfgrass & Perennial Plant Physiology
(765) 494-0651
yjiang@purdue.edu​​
Keith Johnson
Forage Management
(765) 494-4800
johnsonk@purdue.edu

 
Jianxin Ma
Comparative Plant Genomics & 
Soybean Genetics
(765) 496-3662
maj@purdue.edu​​

 
Mohsen Mohammadi
Small Grains Breeding & Genetics
(765) 496-6851
mohamm20@purdue.edu​​
 
Robert Nielsen
Corn Production 
(765) 494-4802
Katy Martin Rainey 
Katy Martin Rainey
Soybean Breeding & Genetics
(765) 494-1212
krainey@purdue.edu

Torbert Rocheford 
Torbert Rocheford
Maize Genetics & Plant Breeding
(765) 494-9243
trochefo@purdue.edu

Lee Schweitzer
Lee Schweitzer
Plant Physiology
(765) 494-4789
lschweitzer@purdue.edu

Steven Scofield
Steven Scofield (USDA/ARS)
Plant Molecular Biology
(765) 494-3674
scofield@purdue.edu

Daniel Szymanski
Daniel Szymanski (AGRY/BTNY)
Plant Molecular Genetics
(765) 494-8092
dszyman@purdue.edu
Mitch Tuinstra  
Mitch Tuinstra
Maize Genetics & Plant Breeding
(765) 494-9093
drmitch@purdue.edu
Jeffrey Volenec
Jeffrey Volenec
Forage Physiology
(765) 494-8071
jvolenec@purdue.edu

Tony Vyn
Tony Vyn
Cropping Systems
(765) 496-3757
tvyn@purdue.edu


Cliff Weil
Cliff Weil
Maize Genetics & Genomics
(765) 496-1917
cweil@purdue.edu

Christie Williams
Christie Williams (USDA/ARS)
Molecular Genetics
(765) 494-6763
cwilliams@purdue.edu
Cankui Zhang
Cankui Zhang
Crop Physiology
(765) 496-6889
ckzhang@purdue.edu​​​


​​​​​​​​​​​​​

​​​

Department of Agronomy, 915 West State Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907-2053 USA, (765) 494-4773

© Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Agricultural Communication

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at agweb@purdue.edu so we can help.

Sign In