Crops & the Changing Environment  

We are on the cutting edge of research to adapt crops to the ever-changing environment. We are developing cropping systems technology to provide a competitive edge for Indiana farmers and the agriculture industry to help feed Indiana, America, and the world on fewer acres of agricultural land. Our expertise includes environmental sustainability through cropping systems, developing responsible fertilizer and pesticide practices to increase crop yields and reduce contamination, creating and using precision farming technologies, and reducing greenhouse gases through innovative cropping systems.  The genetic discoveries we make will feed the world, improve human nutrition, and provide new uses for plants such as biofuels, building products, and substitutes for plastics.

  • Develop Resilient Crop Production Practices

  • Improve Crops Globally Through Genetics, Genomics, and Breeding

  • Enhance Nutritional & Industrial Quality ​

   

Faculty in Crops & the Changing Environment


jmanders.jpg 
Joseph Anderson
Plant Molecular Genetics
(765) 494-4774
janderson@purdue.edu

shaun-casteel-hi-res.jpg 
Shaun Casteel
Soybean Production
(765) 494-0895
scasteel@purdue.edu

Dr. Jim Camberato

James Camberato
Soil Fertility
(765) 496-9338
jcambera@purdue.edu
davide-cammarano.jpg
Davide Cammarano
Digital Agriculture
dcammar@purdue.edu
Gebisa Ejeta 
Sorghum Genetics & Breeding
(765) 494-4320
gejeta@purdue.edu

Bruce Erickson 
Distance Education & 
Outreach Director
(765) 494-7540
berickso@purdue.edu

Corey Gerber
Diagnostic Training & Research Center
(765) 496-3755
cgerber@purdue.edu

kkaczoro.jpg 
Karen Hudson (USDA/ARS)
Plant Molecular Genetics
(765) 494-8057
kkaczoro@purdue.edu​​
Yiwei Jiang
Turfgrass & Perennial Plant Physiology
(765) 494-0651
yjiang@purdue.edu


Keith Johnson
Forage Management
(765) 494-4800
johnsonk@purdue.edu​​

Jianxin Ma
Comparative Plant Genomics & 
Soybean Genetics
(765) 496-3662
maj@purdue.edu
​​
mohsen.jpg 
Mohsen Mohammadi
Small Grains Breeding & Genetics
(765) 496-6851
mohamm20@purdue.

Robert Nielsen
Corn Production 
(765) 494-4802

krainey.jpg  

Katy Martin Rainey
Soybean Breeding & Genetics
(765) 494-1212
krainey@purdue.edu



trochefo.jpg 
Torbert Rocheford
Maize Genetics & Plant Breeding
(765) 494-9243
trochefo@purdue.edu

lschweit.jpg

Lee Schweitzer
Plant Physiology
(765) 494-4789
lschweitzer@purdue.edu
scofield.jpg
Steven Scofield (USDA/ARS)
Plant Molecular Biology
(765) 494-3674
scofield@purdue.edu

mtuinstr.jpg
Mitch Tuinstra
Maize Genetics & Plant Breeding
(765) 494-9093
drmitch@purdue.edu

jvolenec.jpg  
Jeffrey Volenec
Forage Physiology
(765) 494-8071
jvolenec@purdue.edu
tonyvyn.jpg
Tony Vyn
Cropping Systems
(765) 496-3757
tvyn@purdue.edu

diane_wang.jpg

Diane Wang
Genotype-by-enviromnment modeling
(765) 496-4934


CPB_C.Zhang_-150x150.jpg
Cankui Zhang
Crop Physiology
(765) 496-6889
ckzhang@purdue.edu

 










Department of Agronomy, 915 West State Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907-2053 USA, (765) 494-4773

© Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Agricultural Communication

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at agweb@purdue.edu so we can help.

Sign In