Soil & Land Use

We are committed to ensuring a clean environment for this and future generations. Protecting the soil, water, air, and crops of the world is our ultimate goal.  Our expertise includes developing techniques to clean up contaminated soil and water, designing best practices for management of nutrients and animal wastes, preventing soil erosion and promoting soil and water conservation, using satellite imagery to improve crop production and aid land use decisions, and predicting the impact of global climate change on crops and humans. 

  • Improve Soil Health & Productivity
  • Advance the Use Spatial Technologies
  • Characterize & Mitigate Chemical Fate
  • Reduce Soil Loss​

Faculty in Soil & Land Use 

Go back to graduate student research areas​ ​


Shalamar Armstrong 
Shalamar Armstrong
Environmental Soil Science
(765) 496-0256
sarmstro@purdue.edu 

 
Sylvie Brouder
Plant Mineral Nutrition
(765) 494-1489
sbrouder@purdue.edu

 
James Camberato
Soil Fertility
(765) 496-9338
jcambera@purdue.edu

no picture 
Melba Crawford (AGRY/CIVIL)
Earth Observation & Director of LARS
(765) 496-9335
melbac@purdue.edu

 
John Graveel
Environmental Soil Science
(765) 494-8060
jgraveel@purdue.edu

 
Chi-Hua Huang (USDA/ARS)
Soil Erosion & Water Quality
(765) 494-6143
chihua@purdue.edu
 
Brad Joern
Nutrient Management Planning
(765) 494-9767
bjoern@purdue.edu
 
Cliff Johnston
Soil Inorganic Chemistry/Mineralogy
(765) 496-1716
clays@purdue.edu


Eileen Kladivko
Soils Physics & Soil Management
(765) 494-6372
kladivko@purdue.edu

 
Linda Lee
Environmental Organic Chemistry
(765) 494-8612
lslee@purdue.edu

 
Michael Mashtare
Environmental Soil Science
(765) 494-1840
mmashtar@purdue.edu

 
Cindy Nakatsu
Molecular Microbial Ecology
(765) 496-2997
cnakatsu@purdue.edu

 
Phillip Owens 
Soil Geomorphology
(765) 494-0247
prowens@purdue.edu

 

 
Darrell Schulze
Soil Mineralogy
(765) 494-8062
dschulze@purdue.edu

 

 
Gary Steinhardt
Soil Genesis & Soil Management
(765) 494-8063
gsteinha@purdue.edu

 

 
Diane Stott (USDA/ARS)
Soil Microbiology 
(765) 246-1167
destott@purdue.edu 

​ 


 



​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Social Media Overrides Only viewable in edit mode

This sections allows you more control over what appears when someone shares this page. This will only be saved for this page.

Specify below a specific image and/or description to accompany this page. When users share this page, it will override the information automatically gathered from this site by social media sites.

Specify the absolute URL for the image you want shared. Recommended Size: 470px x 246px Minimum Size: 200px x 200px

Provide some text that will accompany the image and title of your page when a user shares.

Department of Agronomy, 915 West State Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907-2053 USA, (765) 494-4773

© 2016 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Agricultural Communication

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at agweb@purdue.edu so we can help.

Sign In