Soil & Land Use

We are committed to ensuring a clean environment for this and future generations. Protecting the soil, water, air, and crops of the world is our ultimate goal.  Our expertise includes developing techniques to clean up contaminated soil and water, designing best practices for management of nutrients and animal wastes, preventing soil erosion and promoting soil and water conservation, using satellite imagery to improve crop production and aid land use decisions, and predicting the impact of global climate change on crops and humans. 

  • Improve Soil Health & Productivity
  • Advance the Use Spatial Technologies
  • Characterize & Mitigate Chemical Fate
  • Reduce Soil Loss​

Faculty in Soil & Land Use 


Profile Image 
Jason Ackerson
Pedology & Pedometrics
(765) 494-5314
jackers@purdue.edu ​

Shalamar Armstrong 
Shalamar Armstrong
Environmental Soil Science
(765) 496-0256
sarmstro@purdue.edu 

 
Sylvie Brouder
Plant Mineral Nutrition
(765) 494-1489
sbrouder@purdue.edu 


Chuck Mansfield
Agronomy Extension Specialist
cmansfield@vine.edu

 no picture
Melba Crawford (AGRY/CIVIL)
Earth Observation & Director of LARS
(765) 496-9335
melbac@purdue.edu
Profile Image
Tim Filley
Soil Organic Matter
(765) 494-6581
filley@purdue.edu


Chi-Hua Huang (USDA/ARS)
Soil Erosion & Water Quality
(765) 494-6143
chihua@purdue.edu
 
Cliff Johnston
Soil Inorganic Chemistry/Mineralogy
(765) 496-1716
clays@purdue.edu


Eileen Kladivko
Soils Physics & Soil Management
(765) 494-6372



 

Linda Lee
Environmental Organic Chemistry
(765) 494-8612


 
Cindy Nakatsu
Molecular Microbial Ecology
(765) 496-2997
cnakatsu@purdue.edu

Profile Image

Chad J. Penn (USDA/ARS)
Soil, Water & Agricultural Chemistry
(765) 494-0330
pennc@purdue.edu



 

Darrell Schulze
Pedology ,Soil Mapping, Mineralogy
(765) 494-8062
dschulze@purdue.edu 

 

 

Gary Steinhardt
Soil Genesis & Soil Management
(765) 494-8063
gsteinha@purdue.edu


 


 

​ 


 



​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Department of Agronomy, 915 West State Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907-2053 USA, (765) 494-4773

© Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Agricultural Communication

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at agweb@purdue.edu so we can help.

Sign In