21 Questions for Jacob Tuell

1. What is your hometown?  Paoli, IN

2. Where did you go to high school? Paoli Junior/Senior High School

3. What is your major/concentration? Animal Sciences--Products; minor in Wildlife Sciences

4. What is your expected graduation date?  May 2018

5. Why did you choose Purdue for undergrad? I wanted to go to culinary school most of my life, but then I decided it would be a good idea to get a bachelor's at a university instead. Purdue has an excellent agriculture program, and I knew I wanted to work with food and animals in some way.

6. What are your plans after graduation? Pursue my PhD in Meat Science here with Dr. Brad Kim

7. What is your ‘spirit animal?’ Labrador retriever. I'm easy-going and if you leave a bag of food out, I'll probably eat the entire thing.

8. What is your favorite organization joined at Purdue? Purdue Meat Science Club and the Quiz Bowl team. It's given me several opportunities to travel around the country and learn more about the meat industry.

9. What is your proudest achievement while at Purdue? I received 1st place for the undergraduate research competition and processed meats judging contest at the Reciprocal Meat Conference in summer 2018.

10. What has been your favorite class taken at Purdue?
FS 45300 - Food Chemistry with Dr. Lisa Mauer

11. What is your favorite Purdue tradition? Purdue at Christmas time - the tree in the Union and the Christmas Show

12. What is the best thing about College of Ag? Many of the classes are accessible to all students regardless of what their particular background is. Professors always make an effort to effectively teach regardless of your knowledge level of a certain subject going into it.

13. What is the best thing about Department of Animal Sciences?  There are so many different professors doing entirely different things that all fall under "Animal Sciences." So, you can get involved with genetics, nutrition, reproduction, meat science, or any other discipline and then find out what you like best.

14. What is the best on-campus study spot? I generally preferred to study in my dorm since I knew it would be quiet. Or, depending on what I'm doing and what the weather is like, outside is always nice.

15. What is your favorite place in town? COREC - going with my friends

16. What is the most important thing you’ve learned outside of the classroom? How to French tuck.

17. Where did you study abroad? Romania for a Maymester with Dr. Ebner working with local milk production. Peru with Dr. Russell working with equine welfare.

​18. What internships/research experiences have you had? I participated in the Purdue Agricultural Center Experience (PACE) program after my freshman year. I worked at the Feldun Purdue Agricultural center to learn the day-to-day of the farm and get my feet wet with undergraduate research. Later, I did the Purdue Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF) program working with Dr. Kim in the Meat Science and Muscle Biology Lab.

​19. What is your favorite quote? “No matter how tough the meat may be, it's going to be tender if you slice it thin enough." - Guy Fieri

 20. What are your hobbies? Cooking, reading and being active

 21. What advice would you give to incoming students? It is perfectly alright to get involved with something and then decide it's not the right fit for you. I did several things throughout my undergrad that, while I mostly enjoyed them, I knew they weren't what I wanted to do after graduation. But through doing those things, I was able to get experience, make connections, and find out what I did want to do.

Department of Animal Sciences, 270 S Russell Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907 USA, (765) 494-4808

© Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Agricultural Communication

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at agweb@purdue.edu so we can help.

Sign In