​Indiana Livestock Breeders Association

Hall of Fame

The Hall of Fame was started in the 1930's by the Indiana Livestock Breeders Association. The ILBA was made up of all state-wide breed associations for Beef, Dairy, Horse, Pleasure Horse, Sheep, Swine, and Goat breeds. The purpose of the Hall of Fame is to recognize those individuals involved in animal science, who have made significant contributions or attained outstanding achievements in the livestock industry.

Changes have taken place over the years, and today the HOF continues through the efforts of representatives of the Beef, Dairy, Horse, Sheep, and Swine industries under the name of Indiana Livestock Breeders Hall of Fame Committee. Honorees are selected annually, and currently are recognized during the Championship Drive at the Indiana State Fair.

Below is a list of honorees, by decade. Each decade header links to a photo gallery of the honorees. Links on individual names go to citations from the award presentation.

Prior to 1955​
Jess C. Andrew, E. J. Barker, I. N. Barker, D. W. Brown, Harry F. Caldwell, Jeptha Crouch, Joseph Cunningham, L. T. Dwyer, Willie J. Essig, Claude Harper, Charles O. House, Franklin George King, Mortimer Levering, S. F. Lockridge, Charles J. Lynn, Gen. Sol. Meredith, J. H. Miller, William H. Miller, Harley M. Millett, E. B. Moore, F. F. Moore, Lloyd Mugg, John B. Nash, Alton P. Nave, Frank A. Nave, Uriah Privet, Bruce Pullen, Otis R. Quakenbush, J. G. Robbins, John E. Robbins, William S. Robbins, William W. Rose, John W. Schwab, John Harrison Skinner, William Wesley Smith, Dr. A. C. Stevenson, Allison E. Stewart, Charles B. Stuart, Arthur Tomson, J. W. Van Natta, William S. Van Natta, John E. Webb, J. W. Wheatly, Thomas Wilhoit, W. W. Wilson, and Herman Wolf

1955 - Richard E. Edwards and W. C. Wood
1956 - Wm. A. Allison
1957 - Hal Royce and Holmes A. Thompson
1958 - Fred L. Belles and Clifford B. Breeden
1959 - Mark E. Miller and Robert H. Parkison

1960 - Harmon M. Harper and Leslie M. Hutchings
1961 - Harry Stamp and Joe K. White
1962 - Henry Mayo and Oren A. Wright
1963 - A. Ray Clodfelter, Gilbert Gardner, and Dr. Albert P. Stewart
1964 - Gerald I. Clodfelter, Harry J. Reed, and Thomas T. Sinclair
1965 - Lee B. Florea
1966 - Lewis L. Stewart
1967 - J. T. Frost and Chas. H. Nickel
1968 - David L. Chambers, Jr. and Hobart W. Jones
1969 - J. W. Ralph Bishop and Durbin D. Budd

1970 - William G. Nash and James B. Outhouse
1971 - Warren M. McVey and Jack Rodibaugh
1972 - Dr. David L. Smith DVM, Gilman C. Stewart, and John A. Stewart
1973 - Robert O. Swaim
1974 - O. Ted Blank, John M. Chaille, Harry Martin, and Marshall A. Mohler
1975 - William T. Anderson, George Doup, Herbert D. McCormick, and Joe C. Metzger
1976 - Dr. W. M. Beeson, Erlend G. Rothenberger, and William R. Rothenberger
1977 - Harry T. Armstrong, Adrian Buck, and Dr. Earl L. Butz
1978 - Carle E. Eiche, Howard G. Harper, and Hubert M. Mullendore
1979 - Glen Day and Sherman O. Kessler

1980 - Harvey Duncan, Robert Harper, and Dwight Smoker
1981 - William Hurst and Virginia Manion
1982 - Paul Keffaber, Thomas Mcans, and Emery L. Parks
1983 - Edward T. S. Brown and Leroy Norris
1984 - Robert C. Peterson, Jack Ragsdale, and Guy Wilson
1985 - Gene C. Shaver and Shirley Whisman
1986 - Kenneth G. MacDonald, Rudy L. Ross, and Mervin Shuter
1987 - E. F. "Bud" Alderson, David Garriott, and Ralph House
1988 - J. Donald Prewett and Marvin Ridgeway
1989 - Ray Becher, Robert Bennett, and Leon Tucker

1990 - James E. Gillooly, Stanley E. Poe, and Richard A. Riggs
1991 - Glen L. Byler, Horace Paarlberg, and Keith Vance
1992 - Wally J. Caine and Robert "Bob" Whisman
1993 - Dr. Thomas W. Freas and Richard G. Nash
1994 - Lee Eller and James R. Foster
1995 - Ralph Coddington and Barry Jordan
1996 - Howard Unger
1997 - Larry A. Nelson and J. Ross Riggs
1999 - Truman Martin, Earle D. Peffer, Kenneth E. Sherbahn, Jerry Turner, Jan and Bill Williams, and Maurice (Mauri) Williamson

2000 - Delmar Guard and Bill Wilson
2001 - Robert L. Benson and Wayne Yake​
2002 - Dr. Roger E. Hunsley
2003 - Dr. Tom Conner
2004 - David L. Smith​
2005 - John L. Fox, Joseph R. Pearson, and Duane Sickels​
2006 - Dale Grubbs, Dr. Martin Stob, and Keith Woodbury​
2007 - Dr. Kern Hendrix, Dr. Robert Duane McDavitt DVM, and Clyde Shaffer​
2008 - Guy Jackson and Dr. John Johnston DVM​
2009 - Leslie Carmichael and Steve Nichols​

2010 - John Cloe, Bill Couch, and Denny Shoup
2011 - Sammy & Pam Jones and Ken Torr​
2012 - Darrell D. Anderson, Brian & Randy Cates, and James F. Patton
2013 - Don Hazelett and James Noel
2014 - Dr. Bret Marsh and Tom Slack
2015 - Dr. Larry Horstman and Merrill Kelsay
2016 - Dan Baker, Dave Kilmer, and Jack Peckinpaugh
2017 - Barry Wesner​
2018 - Tom Farrer and Ruth Watson
2019 - Lawrence Duncan and Dan Willoughby


Department of Animal Sciences, 270 S Russell Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907 USA, (765) 494-4808

© Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Agricultural Communication

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at agweb@purdue.edu so we can help.

Sign In