Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content



 The Purdue Graduate Student Senate (PGSS)


Become a Senator!

The Purdue Graduate Student Senate (PGSS) is the representative body for graduate students at Purdue University and the legislative arm of the Purdue Graduate Student Government (PGSG). The PGSS is composed of members from each of the departments of the university.

The graduate students in biochemistry have had very positive experiences serving as the Senator for PGSG and they recommend other students get involved.  Some students have continued beyond the Senator position to get involved at higher levels.

Biochemistry Senators (of the past 5 years):
Anindya Chatterjee  (2005-06)
       • Executive Board Secretary (2006-07)
       • President (2007-08)
Hemalatha Jayachandran (2006-07 and 2007-08)

Christie Eissler (2008-09)
Jessica Schoenherr (2009-10 and 2010-11)
Liang Xue (2011-12)
Amjad Nasir (2013-14)

A ‘call-out’ is done in the spring of each year for the opportunity to become the biochemistry Senator.