The Integrated Digital Forestry Initiative brings together a multidisciplinary research team from forestry, engineering, geomatics, computer science, aviation technology, information science and other disciplines to explore remote sensing, big data and artificial intelligence and methods for applying them to forestry. The team is supported by Purdue Research Computing offering world-class cloud computing and a network of supercomputers.

Associate Professor, Computer Science
Areas of focus: Computer graphics/vision, deep visual computing, machine learning
Professor of Computer Science
Areas of focus: Computer graphics, 3D vegetation reconstruction, functional structural plant models, deep learning
Program Manager, Agricultural Research
Research Plant Pathologist, USDA Forest Service
Assistant Professor, Entomology, Forestry and Natural Resources
Areas of focus: Plant chemical and physiological ecology and vegetation spectroscopy
Nancy Cramer
Administrative Assistant, Agricultural Research and Graduate Education
Professor, Civil Engineering and Agronomy
Areas of focus: Remote sensing, machine learning algorithms and applications
Lead Research Analyst, Ag Data Services
Jarrod is a Lead Research Analyst with the Agriculture Data Services team, and the Interim Director.   His focus is on combining data architecture and stewardship to improve analytic and visualization capabilities in the areas of agriculture and natural resources research. 
Professor and Dean’s Chair of Remote Sensing, Forestry and Natural Resources
Areas of focus: Forest ecology, modeling, remote sensing
Professor, Forestry and Natural Resources
Areas of focus: Wood and tree identification, quality assessment and processing
Professor, Entomology, Forestry and Natural Resources
Director, Hardwood Tree Improvement and Regeneration Center (HTIRC)
Benny Goller
Lead Research Analyst, Ag Data Services
Benny Goller enjoys working on experimental design, data quality control, analytic pipelines, simulations, and visualization. He primarily works with faculty and research groups in Digital Forestry and the Institute for Plant Sciences/Alumni Ag Seed Phenotyping facility.
Thomas A. Page Professor of Civil Engineering, Lyles School of Civil Engineering
Areas of focus: System integration, system calibration, geo-referencing, data integration/fusion
Assistant Professor, Forestry and Natural Resources
Areas of focus: Urban forestry, LiDAR
Assistant Professor, Forestry and Natural Resources
Areas of focus: IoT, sensor development
Associate Professor, Aviation and Transportation Technology
Areas of focus: UAS data collection, processing and analysis
Fred M van Eck Professor of Forest Biology and Associate Head of Extension, Forestry and Natural Resources
Assistant Professor, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
Areas of focus: Machine systems engineering, data science, digital agriculture
Assistant Professor, Lyles School of Civil Engineering
Areas of focus: Remote sensing, LiDAR, HPC for remote sensing applications, WebGIS
Associate Professor, Information Studies
Areas of focus: GIS, remote sensing, geospatial analysis, geoportal
Assistant Professor, Purdue Polytechnic Institute
Areas of focus: Unmanned aircraft systems, advanced air mobility, workforce development
Associate Professor, Forestry and Natural Resources
Associate Professor, Information Studies
Areas of focus: Remote sensing, data visualization and data science education
Professor, Forestry and Natural Resources
Areas of focus: Optical remote sensing, automated tree measurement
Adjunct Assitant Professor, Forestry and Natural Resources
Areas of focus: Applied machine learning, cloud computing, big data
Professor, Computer and Information Technology
Areas of focus: Applied machine learning, cloud computing, big data
Assistant Head for Experiential Learning, Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Areas of focus: Design; Systems, measurements, and controls

Grad Students/Post Doctoral Researchers

Aviles Toledo, Claudia, Ph.D., cavilest@purdue.edu
Lab: Melba Crawford

Carpenter, Joshua, Ph.D., jcarpene@purdue.edu
Lab: Jinha Jung
Research: tree inventory

Chandrasekaran, Aishwarya, Ph.D., chandr95@purdue.edu
Lab: Guofan Shao & Songlin Fei
Research: inventory

Choi, Dennis, Postdoc, dhchoi@purdue.edu
Lab: Brady Hardiman and Songlin Fei
Research: LiDAR structure

Chong, Ken, MSc,  chong54@purdue.edu
Lab: Jacob Hosen
Research: Sensor

Ciupak, Meghan, MSc, mciupak@purdu.edu
Lab: Jacob Hosen
Research: water

Firoze, Adnan, Ph.D., afiroze@purdue.edu
Lab: Daniel Aliaga
Research: AI for urban tree

Gaillard, Mathiew, Ph.D., mgaillar@purdue.edu
Lab: Bedrich Benes
Research: AI

Hashemin, Jeghdad, Ph.D., hashemin@purdue.edu
Lab: Ayman Habib
Research: inventory

Heidar, Rastiveis, Postdoc, h.rasti@gmail.com
Lab: Ayman Habib
Research: LiDAR analytics

Huang, An-Te, MSc, huan1577@purdue.edu
Lab: Melba Crawford

Huang, Yunmei, Ph.D., huan1643@purdue.edu
Lab: Songlin Fei
Research: AI species Id

Joseph, Mina, MSc, mjosephf@purdue.edu
Lab: Ayman Habib

Li, Bowen, MSc, li4245@purdue.edu
Lab: Guofan Shao
Research: Mapping

Li, Bsheng, Ph.D., li2343@purdue.edu
Lab: Bedrich Benes
Research: AI

Lin, Jill, Ph.D., lin934@purdue.edu
Lab: Ayman Habib
Research: inventory

Liu, Jidong, Ph.D., liu2845@purdue.edu
Lab: Ayman Habib
Research: UAV

Manish, Raja, Ph.D., rmanish@purdue.edu
Lab: Ayman Habib
Research: inventory

Nazeri, Behrokh, Postdoc, bnazeri@purdue.edu
Lab: John Couture
Research: disease

Oh, Sungchan, Postdoc, oh231@purdue.edu
Lab: Jinha Jung & Songlin Fei
Research: mapping

Osterman, Ian, MSc, iosterma@purdue.edu
Lab: Bedrich Benes

Park, Sylvia, Ph.D., park1200@purdue.edu
Lab: John Couture & Douglass Jacobs
Research: disease

Quijano, Karoll, Ph.D., kquijano@purdue.edu
Lab: Melba Crawford

Ravi, Radhika, Ph.D., ravi22@purdue.edu
Lab: Ayman Habib
Research: inventory

Ritter, Madie, MSc, ritter33@purdue.edu
Lab: Jacob Hosen

Shao, Jinyuan, Ph.D., jyshao@purdue.edu
Lab: Songlin Fei
Research: AI point cloud

Song, Zhihang, Ph.D., song399@purdue.edu
Lab: Jian Jin
Research: disease

Tang, Weitao, Ph.D., tang384@purdue.edu
Lab: Baijian Yang
Research: AI for fire

Thapa, Bina, Postdoc, thapab@purdue.edu
Lab: Songlin Fei
Research: tree ecophysiology

Toca, Andrei, Postdoc, otoca@purdue.edu
Lab: Douglass Jacobs

Wang, Taojun, Ph.D., wang3241@purdue.edu
Lab: Melba Crawford

Warner, Charlie, MSc, warner88@purdue.edu
Lab: Rado Gazo
Research: bark id

Wei, Xing, Postdoc, wei408@purdue.edu
Lab: Jian Jin
Research: disease sensing

Wingren, Cameron, MSc. cwingren@purdue.edu
Lab: Joseph Hupy & Songlin Fei
Research: UAV

Wu, Fanyou, Postdoc, wu1297@purdue.edu
Lab: Rado Gazo
Research: image recognition

Yi-Cheng, Ting, Ph.D., cheng331@purdue.edu
Lab: Ayman Habib
Research: inventory

Zhou, Tian, Ph.D., zhou732@purdue.edu
Lab: Ayman Habib
Research: inventory