Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

News : Congratulations to 2010 OVEA Participants and Winners!

Congratulations to 2010 OVEA Participants and Winners!
By Steve Yaninek
2010 Ohio Valley Entomological Association Winners

A team of 5 students and 1 faculty member from the Department traveled to Columbus, Ohio to compete in the Twenty Third Annual Forum of the Ohio Valley Entomological Association (OVEA) on October 29th. Seventeen students from 4 different universities and one high school took part in the competition. Purdue gave 5 presentations and came home with 2 awards for current students, and 2 awards for alumni (see below for detail). A complete account the event will be posted on the OVEA website. A special thanks to Linda Mason who coordinates our participation in OVEA, and to all the advisors who encouraged their students to participate and helped them prepare and practice their presentations. A photo of the Purdue winners is attached.

Master of Science Category:

First Place – Jonathan Larson (BS ‘09; currently Department of Entomology, University of Kentucky) for his paper entitled, “Comparative impact of chlorantraniliprole (Acelepryn®) a novel anthranilic diamide, and other insecticides on beneficial invertebrates and their ecosystem services”.

Second Place – John Shorter for his paper entitled, “A genetic analysis of guarding and stinging behaviors in the honey bee”.

Tied for Third Place – Gabriel Hughes for his paper entitled, “Use of volatile pheromone components as general lures to attract longhorned beetles (Coleoptera: Ceramybicidae)”, and Nikki Van Der Laan (BS ‘10; currently FNR, Purdue University) for her paper entitled, “Influence of osmotic stress on the susceptibility of black cherry to colonization by the peach bark beetle, Phloeotribus liminaris (Harris)”.