Department Seminars​



Seminar Topic

Jan 14
Gary Bennett

Mike Dryden 
Kansas State  University                       

Theory and application of modern flea control

Jan 21

Tom Turpin
Purdue University

The use of insects in poetry

Jan 28

Matt Ginzel
Purdue University

Thousand cankers disease: enhanced detection of the insect vector and etiology of the disease within the native range of black walnut

Feb 4
Trevor Stamper
Lauren Weidner
Purdue University

Distribution and behavior of blow flies (Diptera: Calliphoridae) in New Jersey: applications is forensic entomology

Feb 11
Jen Zaspel/ Gareth Powell
Andrew Cline
California Dept of Food-Agriculture
An inordinate fondness for little brown beetles: explorations into the diversity and biology of an overlooked group of beetles

Feb 18
Laura Ingwell

Megan O'Rourke
Virginia Tech

Sustainable intensification: progress of paradox for pest control?

Feb 25
Laura Ingwell

Chris Philips
University of Minnesota 


Insights into the emergent non-target effects of managing insect pests: a behavioral perspective


Mar 3
Juli Carrillo


Judy Myers
Univerisyt of British Columbia, Professor Emerita


Biological control of weeds doesn't deserve the bad rap


Mar 10


Mike Scharf
Purdue University


Omics studies in urban pest insects: discovery meets delivery


Mar 17 






Mar 24
Josh Gibson

Mar 31


Apr 7
Rick Foster/ Laura Ingwell

Apr 14
Michael Garvey

 Apr 21
Jeff Holland


Apr 28


Arianne Cease
Arizona State Univ  

Brandi Schemerhorn
Purdue University

Shelby Fleischer
Penn State Univ

Shelley Adamo
Dalhousie University

Todd Kelley
Purdue University

Purdue undergraduates

Coupled natural-human systems approach to studying and managing locusts
Investigating plant-pathogen interactions: painting the picture with different brushes

Addressing the When in IPM: timing of beetles, bugs and moths in our AgroEcosystems 
Insect zombification: how a parasitic wasp hijacks the brain of its host, the caterpillar Manduca sexta
K-12 STEM education in the context of entomology: NSF I-Test TRAILS










Seminars scheduled on Thursdays at 3:45 PM in the Roy L. Whistler Hall of Agricultural Research, Room 116.

****Osmun Award seminar in PFEN 241 - Deans Auditorium

Refreshments at 3:15 PM unless noted otherwise.




     Go to thesis seminars

​ ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​