Purdue University

Purdue Agriculture

Purdue Agriculture in Focus

Purdue Agriculture in Focus

May-June 2008

Search underway for Purdue Agriculture dean

The dean of the School of Veterinary Medicine at Purdue University will head the search for a new dean of Purdue Agriculture.

Willie Reed will chair the 17-member committee charged with finding a successor to Randy Woodson, the former Glenn W. Sample Dean of Agriculture and now provost at Purdue.

“Because we have a close and complementary relationship with the College of Agriculture, I’m very pleased to be asked to lead the effort to find their new dean,” said Reed. “Purdue Agriculture has an international reputation for quality and the position should be attractive to a high-caliber applicant pool.”

The dean of Purdue Agriculture oversees educational, research, outreach and regulatory functions. In addition to leading the College of Agriculture, the post also is responsible for Purdue Extension, a statewide program with offices in every Indiana county. Other entities in Purdue Agriculture include the state’s Animal Disease Diagnostic Laboratory, the Indiana State Chemist's office, commodity regulatory services such as the Indiana State Egg Board and market development programs for the state’s wine grape, mint and turkey growers.

“The College of Agriculture at Purdue enjoys a rich tradition of excellence in discovery, learning and engagement,” said Provost Woodson.  “As a leading program in the United States, this position will be attractive to a diverse and highly qualified slate of candidates.”

Woodson said the target is to name a new dean of Purdue Agriculture before the end of the year.

Others on the search committee include:

• Layi Adeola, professor of animal sciences
• John Baugh, director of Agricultural Services and Regulations
• James Forney, professor of biochemistry
• Gary Geswein, president of the Agricultural Alumni Association
• Catherine Hill, associate professor of entomology
• Matthew Holt, professor of agricultural economics
• Jess Lowenberg-DeBoer, associate dean and director of International Programs in Agriculture
• Jim Luzar, county Extension director and agricultural and natural resources educator, Purdue Extension, Montgomery County
• Dinah McClure, communications specialist, Office of the Dean of Agriculture
• Tesfaye Mengiste, associate professor of botany and plant pathology
• Angus Murphy, professor of horticulture and landscape architecture
• Suzanne Nielsen, professor and head of the Department of Food Science
• Kathryn Orvis, associate professor in youth development and agricultural education
• Linda Prokopy, assistant professor of forestry and natural resources
• Jenna Rickus, associate professor of agricultural and biological engineering
• Mitch Tuinstra, Wickersham Chair of Excellence in Agricultural Research in the Department of Agronomy.


Writer: Beth Forbes, (765) 494-2722, forbes@purdue.edu
Sources: Willie Reed, (765) 494-7608, wreed@purdue.edu
                  Randy Woodson, (765) 494-9709, woodson@purdue.edu