Senior Achievement Award


In 1957, Robert D. York was the first recipient of the Purdue Agricultural Alumni Association “Senior Achievement Award.” The award has been presented annually since then.

In this photo, Robert York receives his award from Dean V.C. Freeman (R) and Dean Pfendler.

Robert York receives his award from Dean V.C. Freeman (R) and Dean Pfendler in 1957.

The award was initially established to recognize a graduating senior who excelled above all others in scholastic work, extra-curricular activities and general attitude.

While the Senior Achievement Award has been presented for more than 60 years, it is not the college’s first “outstanding senior” recognition program. In the early 1900s, the Agricultural Faculty at its meetings discussed and selected a senior to represent the school to give an address at the annual university commencement.


Senior Achievement Award Recipients 1957-2018

YEAR            NAME                                            HOME TOWN

1957             York, Robert Dale                         Worthington

1958             Harmon, Buddy Gene                  Camden

1959             Spuller, Robert Luckey                 Rushville

1960             Feltner, Richard Lee                     New Ross

1961             Phillips, Ronald Lewis                  Crawfordsville

1962             Beck, Lawrence C.                        Atlanta

1963             Agness, Jay Byron                         Bunker Hill

1964             Green, John Robert                      Versailles

1965             Akers, Stephen Jay                       Greencastle

1966             Hobson, John Sylvester               Russiaville

1967             Ackerson, Nels John                     Westfield

1968             Brown, Stephen Dale                   Frankfort

1969             Berkheiser, Vaughn Elwood        Argos

1970             Watson, Annetta Paule                 Jeffersonville

1971             Irvin, Keith Merrill                         New Castle

1972             Juday, Glenn Patrick                     West Lafayette

1973             Rodibaugh, David Charles           Rensselaer

1974             Matzat, Eugene Allen                    North Judson

1975             Bechman, Thomas Jeffrey           Greenwood

1976             Chess, Nancy Dinsmore               New Concord, OH

1977             Purschwitz, Mark Alan                 West Lafayette

1978             Edmondson, Michael Bray          Clayton

1979             Lute, Mark Alan                             Plymouth

1980             Ashlock, Melissa Ann                   Godfrey, IL

1981             Stewart, James Gllman                Greensburg

1982             Odle, Jack                                       Rensselaer

1983             Thieme, Ronald H.                        Noblesville

1984             Eikenberry, Kevin Leon               Scottville, MI

1985             Boring, Rebecca Ann                    New Palestine

1986             Bishop, Steven Duane                 Orleans

1987             Everett, Doug Allen                      Lebanon

1988             Halderman, F. Howard                Wabash

1989             Wuethrich, Jr., Chris Lee              Francesville

1990             Stump, Scott Alan                        Lagrange

1991             Halderman, Richard Robert       Wabash

1992             Overpeck, Nikki Lyn                    Clinton

1993             Ripberger, Todd Jason                Tipton

1994             Hefty, Lisa Marie                          Auburn

1995             Bishop, James Daniel                  Leesburg

1996             Weaver, Robert Vance                 Crawfordsville

1997             Ripberger, Chad Edward             Tipton

1998             Harris, Sarina Grace                    Selma

1999             Hefty, David Wayne                     Auburn

2000             Jacobus, Luke Murray                  Columbus

2001             Merrill, Joshua Matthew             Thorntown

2002             Day, Anna Carol                           Noblesville

2003             Pence, Sarah Elizabeth               Hope

2004             Maxwell, Leah Beth                     Francesville

2005             Retzner, Nicole Lea                      New Palestine

2006             Janovitz, Tyler Williamson           Cranbury, NJ

2007             Cumberbatch, Rachel Nicole      Lebanon

2008             Potts, Dustin Willam                    Newburgh

2009             Velasquez, Christina Ann            Dyer

2010             Kischuk, Erin Michelle                  Muncie

2011             Steiner, Jamie Louise                   Berne

2012             Moore, Betheny Karissa              Centerville

2013             Rangel, Gabriel William               Indianapolis

2014             Martin, Travis James                    Logansport

2015             Erickson, Emily C.                         Clarks Hill

2016             Correll, Sarah K.                           Macy

2017             Mann, Cameron S.                       Cloverdale

2018             Rodriguez, Abdias                        Greeley, CO

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2020 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Purdue Agriculture Academic History

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact Purdue Agriculture Academic History at