Purdue College of Agriculture
Dean's Advisory Council

The Purdue Agriculture Dean's Advisory Council is comprised of individuals who represent the breadth of the food, life sciences, agriculture and natural resource system. Council members come from across the state (and beyond) and have a wide range of occupations and professional/personal backgrounds. The diverse expertise and capabilities of our Council members ensure that many perspectives are heard as we address the challenges and opportunities of an increasingly global economy and agriculture industry.  Over the years, our Council members have been instrumental in helping Purdue Agriculture set and reach some important goals.  Purdue Agriculture is fortunate to have exceptional individuals who invest in and support the future of agriculture.

These are the members of the 2013-2014 Purdue Agriculture Dean’s Advisory Council:

  • Jim Baird
    • State Representative, District 44, Indiana General Assembly
    Michael Beach
    • Associate Director for Healthy Water, Centers for Disease Control National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases
    Susan Brocksmith
    • Agribusiness Program Chair, Vincennes University
    Kevin Cavanaugh
    • Director of Research, Beck’s Hybrids
    Margaret Davidson
    • Chief Marketing Officer, Indiana State Fair Commission
    Kim DeWees
    • Owner/CEO, Vision Ag, Inc.; Vision A Farm Management Services, LLC
    Jeff Evard
    • Owner, Herr Station Malt; Nature’s Crossroads Seed Co.
    Laura Gentis             
    • Regional Vice President, Farm Credit Mid-America
    Tony Hahn
    • Director of State Government Relations & Policy Analysis, Purdue University
  • Deana Hancock
    • Director, Enzyme Produce Development, Elanco Animal Health
    Brandt Hershman
    • State Senator, District 7, Indiana General Assembly
    Scott Jamieson
    • Vice President, Bartlett Tree Experts
    James Joshua
    • U.S. Strategic Supply Chain Manager, McDonald’s
  • Steve Kelly
    • Owner/Operator, Brock Creek Farms and Northside Salem, LLC
  • Dan Kittle
    • Vice President, Research & Development, Dow AgroSciences



  • Geoff Knowles
    • Director, Montgomery County Instructional Center, Ivy Tech Community College
    Ted McKinney
    • Director, Indiana State Department of Agriculture
    Dama Napier
    • Research and Development Manager, Morgan Foods, Inc.
    Scot Ortman
    • CEO/President, Kokomo Grain Co., Inc.
    Jill Pack
    • Product Manager, Erosion Control Division, Tensar North American Green
    Belinda Puetz
    • Brand Manager, CountryMark
    Ryan Richardson
    • Owner/Grower, County Line Orchard, Hobart, IN
    Travis Scherer
    • Agriscience and Business Teacher, Tri County High School
    Dan Shaver
    • Brown County Hills Project Director and Forest Bank Operations Manager, The Nature Conservancy
    Mark Sigler
    • Chief Operating Officer and Treasurer, Indiana Farm Bureau
    Jane Ade Stevens
    • CEO, Indiana Soybean Alliance and Executive Director, Indiana Corn Marketing Council
    Jeff Troike
    • President and CEO, Ceres Solutions, LLP
    LuAnn Troxel
    • Owner, Troxel Dairy Farm; President, Indiana Professional Dairy Producers
    Dexter Wakefield
    • Executive Director, Agricultural Education and Research for the Preservation of Rural Cultural Heritage (PORCH) Society
    Kevin Wilson
    • President, Indiana Soybean Alliance