Outreach ​and Engagement Awards

The College of Agriculture PK-12 Council's Outreach and Engagement Awards were established to recognize, reward, and celebrate faculty and staff involved in successful outreach and engagement activities and to encourage the improvement and expansion of those activities. In 2018, there were five excellent nominations, exhibiting the tremendous work in the College of Agriculture expanding the pool of students interested in, and prepared for, careers in food, agricultural, life, and natural resource sciences.

The Purdue College of Agriculture's PK-12 Council selected three winners of the 2018 PK-12 Outreach and Engagement Awards. Kelly Delp received the PK-12 Excellence Staff Award, Hui Hui Wang received the PK-12 Emerging Faculty Impact Award, and the team of John Lumkes, Daniel Taylor and Jose Garcia received the PK-12 Sustained Faculty Impact Award. Each recipient received a reward of $5,000 to expand and improve their PK-12 Engagement activities in order to increase impact.


Pictured above, from left to right, PK-12 Council Chair Dr. Knobloch, Sustained Faculty Impact Award winners Jose Garcia, John Lumkes, and Daniel Taylor; Emerging Faculty Impact Award winner Hui-Hui Wang, and Excellence Staff Award winner Kelly DelpPictured above, from left to right, PK-12 Council Chair Dr. Knobloch, Sustained Faculty Impact Award winners Jose Garcia, John Lumkes, and Daniel Taylor; Emerging Faculty Impact Award winner Hui-Hui Wang, and Excellence Staff Award winner Kelly Delp

Kelly Delp is the Director of Development for Agricultural Advancement and developer of the World Food Prize (WFP) Youth Institute at Purdue University. The WP Youth Institute engages high school students in critical analysis of global challenges that affect food security. These students broaden their understanding of issues in food security and agriculture, and for many of them, the institute represents a life-changing endeavor. Many students with no previous exposure to agriculture have reported to change their areas of study and career plans thanks to their institute experience. Some have received scholarships and internships based upon their participation. The institute also serves as a national model, as the WFP Foundation has published the institute's learning resources for use by fellow land-grant universities. The WFP Youth Institue is not officially listed in Kelly's job description. However, her passion for agriculture - and encouraging excitement and expertise among new generations - is evident in her diligent coordination and enhancement of the institute.

2018 Emerging Faculty Impact Award

Hui-Hui Wang is an Assistant Professor of Agricultural STEM Education in the department of Agricultural Sciences Education and Communication. Dr. Want effectively collaborates with faculty in the Colleges of Agriculture, Science, Education, and Engineering. She has developed three curricula to engage PK-12 audiences: learning about engineering design using the Rube Goldberg Machine Contest; integrating STEM using pollinators; and integrating STEM using hydroponics. Dr. Wang also has trained Purdue Master Gardeners in the pollinator curriculum and high school teachers in the hydroponics curriculum. Additionally, she co-developed a new graduate studies course - instructing students on how to teach integrated STEM through agriculture, food, and natural resourcs. Those students developed and implemented lessons at YMCA afterschool programs and for local Girl Scout troops. They created posters about their experiences, and several shared their lessons with teachers at professional conferences. Dr. Wang has presented and co-presented K-12 education research papers at nine international and national conferences. Across classrooms, communities, and colleagues, Dr. Wang is a rising advocate of advancing STEM education.

2018 Sustained Faculty Impact Award

John Lumkes, Daniel Taylor, and Jose Garcia have each influenced the development, implemenation, and sustainability of the Portabe Fluid Power Demonstrators (PFPD) program. Dr. Lumkes composed grants to develop new engagement programs and support existing ones. He also worked with Project Lead the Way (PLTW) teachers at area high schools in activites that have been implemented in univeristies beyond Purdue. Students at numerous Midwest high schools have supplemented the PLTW curriculum by building their own mini-excavators. Daniel Taylor created a sustainable model of PFPD activities by forming an Agricultural and Biological Engineering (ABE) student ambassador club - which trains students to offer outreach activities as part of their service to Purdue University's campus. During the original PFPD development, Dr. Garcia was a doctoral student in Dr. Lumkes's lab. Now a faculty member, Dr. Garcia has developed lesson plans for various grade levels that empower students to experience PFPD concepts in real life - making science more memorable and STEM careers more appealing. At the National Science Foundation's request, the PFPD has been exhibited in Washington, D.C., as well as in Chicago and Indianapolis. Through PK-12 outreach programs, Lumkes, Garcia, and Taylor have reached 2,500 students. Their work has helped youth in the United States, Mexico, and Columbia see, test, and experience fluid power technology firsthand.

2017 PK-12 Outreach and Engagement Award Winners​

PK-12 Excellence Staff Award - Jeff Sanson, JW Fansler, and Shelly Surber

PK-12 Emerging Faculty Impact Award - Bryan Pijanowski

PK-12 Sustained Faculty Impact Award - Roger Tormoehlen​​​​​​

2016 PK-12 Outreach and Engagement Award Winners​

PK-12 Excellence Staff Award - John Cavaletto

PK-12 Emerging Faculty Impact Award - Dr. Rod Williams​

PK-12 Sustained Faculty Impact Award - Dr. Tom Turpin​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Purdue Agriculture, 615 West State Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907-2053 USA, (765) 494-8392

© Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Agricultural Communication

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at agweb@purdue.edu so we can help.

Sign In