​Food Preservation

Perhaps you're new to home food preservation. Perhaps you need a refresher. Purdue Extension Educators are here to help. You may contact any of the Purdue Extension Educators who are Mastering Home Food Preservation Instructors and find helpful resources below. If preserving food at home sparks your curiosity, then check out our Food Science degree program and careers in Food Science


Mastering Home Food Preservation

If you are interested in getting more information regarding the 2021 Mastering Home Food Preservation course offered by Purdue Extension please add your email information by clicking or copying the following link into a browser:  https://purdue.ca1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_1RjfCyqgLtf14MJ


Mastering Home Food Preservation Extension Educators (listed by Indiana county)

  • Bartholomew County:  Harriet Armstrong, armstrh@purdue.edu, (812) 379-1665
  • Cass County:  Jane Horner, horner8@purdue.edu, (574) 753-7750
  • Floyd County: Janet Steffens, jsteffens@purdue.edu, (812) 948-5470
  • Harrison County:  Annette Lawler, aclawler@purdue.edu, (812) 738-4236
  • Jennings County:  Atina Rozhon, arozhon@purdue.edu, (812) 352-3033
  • Knox County:  Tonya Short, short43@purdue.edu, (812) 882-3509
  • Lake County:  Linda Curley, lcurley@purdue.edu, (219) 755-3240
  • Marshall County:  Karen Richey, krichey@purdue.edu, (574) 935-8545
  • Montgomery County:  Monica Nagele, mwilhoit@purdue.edu, (765) 364-6363
  • Noble County:   Abigail Creigh, creigh@purdue.edu, (260) 636-21111
  • Tippecanoe County:  Amber Noll, anoll@purdue.edu, (765) 474-0793
  • Vanderburgh County:  Meagan Brother, brotherm@purdue.edu, (812) 867-4935
  • White County:  Denise Schroeder, schroedd@purdue.edu, (219) 984-5115

Home Food Preservation Resources

National Center For Home Food Preservation

Download resources about Food Preservation and Storage as well as numerous other Food & Nutrition topics from the Purdue Extension Education Store. The "Let's Preserve" Series includes free Education Store publication downloads for basic home canning, freezing vegetables, drying fruits and dehydrating vegetables, and preserving meat and poultry, tomatoes, pears, cherries, strawberries, blueberries, peaches, apricots, nectarines, apples, fruit pie fillings, jelly, jam and spreads, peppers, snap beans, sweet corn, sauerkraut, drying herbs, and quick process pickles.

USDA Complete Guide To Home Canning

FoodLink is the resource for anyone who has ever stood in front of produce and wondered, "What is that?" or "What can I don with that?" Scan the FoodLink QR codes on fresh fruits and vegetables to learn more about them, including how to select, prepare, and care for them. 

North Central Region Food Safety website provides research based home food preservation information and recipes.  



Department of Food Science, 745 Agriculture Mall Drive, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-8256

© Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Agricultural Communication

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at agweb@purdue.edu so we can help.

Sign In