PhiTauSigmaLogo.pngPhi Tau Sigma 

Phi Tau Sigma is the honor society of Food Science and Technology founded in 1953 at the University of Massachusetts Amherst by Dr. Gideon E. (Guy) Livingston, a food technology professor. The society's name is derived from the Greek words ΦΙΛΕΙΝ (Philleen) ~ Love , ΤΡΟΦΗΣ (Trophees) ~  of Food, and ΣΠΟΥΔΗΝ (Spootheen) ~ Study. 


The purposes of the society are to:

  • recognize and honor professional achievements of food scientists and technologists;
  • encourage the application of fundamental scientific principles to food science and technology in all its branches;
  • stimulate the exchange of scientific knowledge through meetings, lectures, and publications, and;
  • promote exclusively charitable, scientific, literary and educational programs.

How to Beco​me a Member

Food Science senior and graduate students may be nominated as outlined by the nomination criteria by Phi Tau Sigma members to become a Student Member of Phi Tau Sigma. The Hoosier Chapter membership committee typically submits nominations to the national Phi Tau Sigma leadership during the fall and spring semesters of each year. Students who meet the eligibility criteria will be contacted by the Chapter Officers and asked to complete the nomination form which they will submit to the national office. Selected students will be notified via email and asked to attend the Hoosier Chapter annual luncheon to celebrate achievements of current members and to welcome the new initiates. An award is given every year to the Outstanding Undergraduate Senior.

National D​ues

Student Member Nomination Fee: $20
Annual Student Membership Renewal:  $20
Professional Member Nomination Fee:  $40
Annual Professional Member Renewal:  $40
Lifetime Member (one-time fee):  $400

Hoosier Chap​​ter Dues

Student Member:  $15 (covers events including annual initiation luncheon)

Waived for the 2020-21 academic year.

Benefits of Members​hip

Leadership * Scholarships * Awards * Pursuit of Excellence * Connection with Food Science Professionals 

Hoosier Chapter at Purdue ​University

Phi Tau Sigma Hoosier Chapter at Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana was chartered in 1966 with William "Bill" .J. Stadelman as the first president. Dr. Stadelman was a poultry scientist on faculty in Purdue's Department of Animal Sciences at the time. When the Department of Food Science was formed in 1983, Dr. Stadelman along with nine other Purdue faculty members joined Dr. Philip Nelson to build and lead the newly created department. The current professional member, Dr. Suzanne Nielsen, Professor of Food Science, serves as the Hoosier Chapter Advisor. The Hoosier Chapter promotes excellence in food science and technology through several events every year such as the annual new initiates luncheon, coffee hour with undergraduate students to promote continuing education opportunities, and community service activities.

Use the Following Links to Learn More!

Con​tact us

2020-21 Executive Board

President:  Connie Muniandy,
Treasurer:  Merve Yildirim,
Advisor:  Dr. Suzanne Nielsen,

Staff Support:  Laurie Van Keppel,

We invite you to join!


Department of Food Science, 745 Agriculture Mall Drive, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-8256

© Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Agricultural Communication

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at so we can help.

Sign In