Congratulations to our 2023 ASEC Distinguished Alumni: Abigail Borron, Aaron McKim, and Travis Park.

We invite everyone attend the awards presentation and reception that follows: 2 p.m. Friday, September 15, in Creighton Hall of Animal Sciences, room 1042.

Abigail Borron

Abigail Borron

(M.S., Youth Development and Agricultural Education, 2007; Ph.D., Youth Development and Agricultural Education, 2012), associate professor in the Department of Agricultural Leadership, Education, and Communication at the University of Georgia
Aaron McKim

Aaron McKim

(B.S., Agricultural Education, 2010), associate professor and program lead in Michigan State University Department of Community Sustainability
Travis Park

Travis Park

(B.S., Agricultural Education, 1996; M.S., Agricultural Education, 2002), professor of Agricultural Education in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at North Carolina State University

Successful nominees for the Agricultural Sciences Education and Communication (ASEC) Distinguished Alumni Award will have demonstrated excellence in industry, academia, governmental service, or other career endeavors through their leadership, community service, and professional accomplishments.

Nominees will have earned a B.S., M.S., or Ph.D. degree in Agricultural Communication or Agricultural Education in the Purdue Department of Agricultural Sciences Education and Communication or the Department of Youth Development and Agricultural Education.

Previous Award Recipients

  • Tony Carrell (B.S., Agricultural Education, 1984), Purdue Extension Specialist in 4-H Youth Development, Indiana 4-H office
  • Inez Ponce de Leon (Ph.D., Focus on Science and Risk Communication, 2011), Associate Professor, Department of Communication, Ateneo de Manila University, Quezon City, Philippines
  • Travis Scherer (B.S., Agricultural Education, 2001; MS., Youth Development and Agricultural Education, 2008), Agriculture Teacher, Tri-County Junior-Senior High School

  • Brittini R. Brown (Ph.D., Youth Development and Agricultural Education, 2016)
    Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs for the University of Maryland, Baltimore County
  • Brittany Kloer (B.S., Agricultural Education, 2008)
    Career and Technical Education Area Director for the Area 18 CTE Cooperative
  • Megan Kuhn (B.S., Agricultural Communication, 1999)
    Communications Specialist/Assistant to the Dean for the Purdue University College of Agriculture

  • Denise Derrer (B.S., Agricultural Communication, 1990) - Public Information Director for the Indiana State Board of Animal Health
  • Tracie Eggerr (B.S., Agricultural Communication, 1995; Ph.D. Agricultural and Extension Education, 2009) - Leadership Training Specialist for AgReliant Genetics, Westfield, Indiana
  • Andrea Schwartz (B.S., Agricultural Education, 2006; M.S. Agricultural and Extension Education, 2011) - Dean of the School of Advanced Manufacturing, Engineering & Applied Science and Associate Professor of Agriculture at Ivy Tech Community College-Lafayette.

  • Scott Stump (B.S., Agricultural Education, 1990)
  • Julia A. Wickard (B.S., Agricultural Communication, 1993)

  • Ann Camden (B.S., Agricultural Communication, 1993)
  • Scott W. Johnson (B.S., Agricultural Education and Agricultural Communication, 1992)

  • Darrell Allen (B.S., Agricultural Education,1982; M.S, Agricultural Education,1985)
  • Allan D. Goecker (B.S., Agriculture (Agricultural Education), 1964; M.S. , Agricultural Education, 1966) Ph.D., Agricultural Education, 1974

  • Robert Friar (B.S., Agricultural Education, 1956; M.S. Biological Sciences, 1959; Ph.D. Animal Sciences, 1967)
  • Eric Steiner (B.S., Agricultural Education, 2002)
  • Jane Ade Stevens (B.S., Agricultural Communication, 1976)