Skip to Main Content

Townsend competition recognizes four Purdue Agriculture student winners

Judges have selected four Purdue Agriculture student winners for the 2022-2023 Townsend Communication in Agriculture competition. Each winner will receive a $1,000 award for their entries in writing and presentational speaking.

Sydney Altman, a senior Agricultural Communication major from Chalmers, Indiana, won for her creative essay entry, “The Livestock Industry, A Family Away from Home.” Altman said she plans to pursue a career in both youth outreach and the swine industry after earning her degree.

Kylie Bedel, a sophomore with majors in Agribusiness and in Animal Sciences from Evansville, Indiana, won for presentational speaking entry, “I Am the Farmer.” Bedel said she wants to leave her footprint in the industry to help with sustainability and production efficiency.

Allison Lund, a junior Agricultural Communication major from Cambridge, Wisconsin, won for her informative writing entry, “Make Fire Prevention a Priority on Your Farm.” Lund said she hopes to pursue a career in agricultural journalism after graduation.

Shelby Whitaker, a junior from Valparaiso, Indiana, with majors in Agricultural Communication and in Sales and Marketing, won for her presentational speaking entry, “Aquaponics: A Sustainable Future.” Whitaker said she hopes to pursue a marketing career to advocate for farmers and educate others about agriculture.


Sydney Altman Sydney Altman
Kylie Bedel Kylie Bedel
Allison Lund Allison Lund
Shelby Whitaker Shelby Whitaker

The Townsend Communication in Agriculture Program recognizes and develops excellence in professional speaking and writing about science, agriculture, and natural resources. Entrants are undergraduates in the Purdue College of Agriculture. The competition is in honor of the W. Wayne Townsend family of Indiana. The late Mr. Townsend ran as the Democratic Party’s candidate for Indiana governor in 1984 and started his leadership career at Purdue, ultimately serving on the Purdue Board of Trustees for 15 years.  

Details for entering the 2023-2024 competition will be announced this fall.

Featured Stories

Purdue College of Agriculture.
Weakening crop prices and high production costs weigh on farmer sentiment

Agricultural producers’ sentiment declined for the second month in a row, as the Purdue...

Read More
Drew Parker stands in front of a John Deere Tractor in a field.
Cultivating the Future: Drew Parker & Sydney Wheeler

A child growing up in agriculture is as likely to recognize the deep green logo with a yellow...

Read More
Awardees for the book of great teachers
Book of Great Teachers celebrates induction of new faculty

The 2023 Book of Great Teachers induction ceremony, held on Sept. 26, honored 38 outstanding...

Read More
Trent Osmon speaks to a group of students in the forest
Trent Osmon Named 2023 FNR Distinguished Alumnus

Purdue Forestry and Natural Resources is proud to honor Trent Osmon with its 2023 FNR...

Read More
Book of Great Teachers inductees 2023
Instructors Inducted into Book of Great Teachers

Purdue inducted 38 instructors into its Book of Great Teachers, which honors outstanding teaching...

Read More
PFAS in water macro shot
Agronomy Alumna Nominated as Inventor of the Year

Kavitha Dasu (PhD ’11, Agronomy), senior research scientist and lead chemist for...

Read More
To Top