Fall 2023-2024 ANSC Scholarship Application

Thank you for your interest in our departmental scholarships.  The 2023-2024 application has now passed.

Animal Sciences Scholarships and Awards:

Current Freshmen and Sophomores:

Smith-Nuerge Scholarship - GPA of > 3.00. Sponsors: William and Terry Nuerge. 

Current Freshmen, Sophomores, and Juniors:

ROBERT W. BALTZELL SCHOLARSHIP - Scholarship for a student with a 3.50 GPA and enrolled in a minimum of 12 credit hours.  Pre-vet students are not eligible.  Sponsor:  Robert Baltzell in honor of Drs. Millard Plumlee, Hobart Jones, and Martin Stob.

BAUMGARDT FAMILY SCHOLARSHIP – Recipient must be an Indiana resident and involved in undergraduate research.  Sponsors:  Dr. Billy and Elaine Baumgardt.

BOOK-HARMON LEADERSHIP SCHOLARSHIP – Recipient must have a minimum GPA of 3.00, possess good communication and leadership skills, and be involved in extracurricular activities.  Sponsors:  Drs. Robert Book and Bud Harmon.

BLAINE CROWL MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP – Recipient must be Indiana resident, preference will be given to those with a Dairy interest.  GPA > 2.65.  Sponsors:  John and Judith Cleland.

HOWARD L. DAUGHERTY MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP – Preference will be given to a student who is participating in Study Abroad within the College of Agriculture.  Sponsors:  Gary and Connie Standiford.

JOHN HENRY HINKLE MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP – Scholarship for a student with a GPA of ≥ 3.50 and enrolled in a minimum of 12 credit hours.  Recipients must demonstrate academic proficiency in animal science.  Preference is given to Monroe County residents.  Sponsor:  Mrs. Joseph N. Garton in memory of her grandfather.

R. L. HOGUE AWARD – Recipient must demonstrate leadership interest in and potential for contributing to the poultry industry.  Sponsors:  Friends of R. L. Hogue.

INDIANA STATE POULTRY ASSOCIATION SCHOLARSHIP – Recipient must be in-state and enrolled as a full-time Animal Sciences student with a proven interest in the poultry industry.  Sponsor:  Indiana State Poultry Association.

EMERSON J. KUHN SCHOLARSHIP – Demonstrated commitment to active leadership in high school, local community, or Purdue University.  Recipient must file the FAFSA for Fall 2022.  GPA ≥ 2.65.  Sponsors:  Dr. William E. Kuhn and Joyce M. Kuhn.

MADIA FAMILY SCHOLARSHIP – Recipient must be an Indiana resident. GPA ≥ 2.65.  Sponsors:  John and Jean Madia.

TRUMAN AND MARJORIE MARTIN STUDY ABROAD - Recipient must be participating in the Study Abroad Program for either a full semester or entire academic year. Written statement of travel and study plans, and expected educational benefits is needed. Indicate involvement in extracurricular activities. GPA > 3.00.

CHARLES L. AND JEAN RUEFF SCHOLARSHIP – Recipient must show an interest in the swine industry such as previous industry involvement or post-graduate plans for industry employment.  Awardee must demonstrate progress in the development of academics, leadership and self-improvement.  GPA > 2.70.  Sponsors:  Dr. Larry and Gail Rueff.

THRASHER FAMILY SCHOLARSHIP – Recipient must demonstrate progress in the development of academic skills, leadership, and self-improvement.  GPA ≥ 2.70.  Sponsors:  The George Thrasher family.

Current Sophomores Only:

THE ERIC B. and FRAN LUCKMAN AWARD – Indicate potential for leadership in the animal agriculture industry.  Articulate plans to work in the animal agriculture industry or for post-graduate education that will ultimately impact the industry.  Demonstrate progress in the development of academic skills, leadership, and self-improvement.  GPA > 2.70.

HENRY MAYO SCHOLARSHIP - Recipient must indicate an interest in animal food products and animal agriculture.  Must demonstrate extracurricular leadership and citizenship activities.  GPA > 2.70.  Sponsors:  Henry A. Mayo and friends.

Current Sophomores and Juniors:

BRATTON-WEBSTER MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP – Recipients must be involved in undergraduate research in biology/biotechnology of food-processing animals.  GPA > 2.70.  Sponsor:  In memory of Robert Logan Bratton and Sarah Hannah Davis Bratton.

FRANK AND WINI CLARK BEEF INDUSTRY SCHOLARSHIP – Must demonstrate leadership and an interest in the beef industry. GPA > 2.70. Sponsor: Wini Clark.

OWEN AND FRAN CRISMAN FAMILY SCHOLARSHIP – Recipient must have GPA ≥ 3.00.  Sponsors:  Crisman family in honor of Dr. Martin Stob.

PAUL E. NEWMAN SCHOLAR AWARD not available during this scholarship cycle.

Current Juniors and any Seniors graduating in December 2022:

RICHARD A. PICKETT MEMORIAL AWARD - Recipient must demonstrate academic excellence, leadership, citizenship and extracurricular activities with an interest in animal agriculture.  GPA > 2.70.  Sponsors:  Friends of Dr. Richard A. Pickett.

ROTHENBERGER LEADERSHIP AWARD – Recipient must demonstrate potential for outstanding leadership and citizenship in the swine industry.  GPA > 2.70.  Sponsor:  Erland Rothenberger.


All Current Students:

DEKRYGER FAMILY SCHOLARSHIP - Recipient must be an Indiana resident.  Sponsors:  Malcom and Donna DeKryger.

PAUL AND LINDA BRENNAN SCHOLARSHIP IN ANIMAL SCIENCES - Indiana resident and full-time student in Animal Sciences. Sponsors: Paul and Linda Brennan.

WILLIAM HAGEMEIER FAMILY SCHOLARSHIP FOR ANIMAL SCIENCES - Recipient must be a full-time Animal Sciences student.  Sponsors:  William R. and Pamala Hagemeir.

OUTSTANDING FRESHMAN, SOPHOMORE, JUNIOR, AND SENIOR AWARDS - One student in each class is selected on academics (60%) and leadership (40%) and nominated for College of Agriculture awards.  Students with GPA ≥ 3.25 will receive instructions in late January of each year for application procedures.


To be eligible for any award or scholarship, a student must be enrolled for at least 12 credits as an undergraduate Animal Sciences major on the West Lafayette campus of Purdue University for the Fall 2022 semester.  For other financial aid information, contact the Division of Financial Aid at 765-494-5050.  For more information about Animal Sciences scholarships, contact Ashley York at 765-494-4843 or

Scholarships for incoming freshmen and transfer students can be found here.

Animal Sciences Scholarships and Awards to incoming ANSC majors (Fall 2022): due by December 15, 2021

CHARLES L. AND JEAN RUEFF Scholarship – $1,000 scholarships.  Delineate potential for leadership in the swine industry.  Interest in the swine industry such as previous industry involvement, or post-graduate plans for industry employment.  Demonstrate progress in the development of academic skills, leadership, and self-improvement.

THRASHER FAMILY AWARD – $2,500.  Recipient must demonstrate progress in development of academic skills, leadership and self-improvement.  If five or more candidates are equally qualified, the award will be given to the recipient demonstrating the greater financial need.

Once you enter the scholarship application, you must answer questions prior to hitting submit; you will not be able to go back and make changes after you submit: Application form - available October 1

If you have any questions, please contact Ashley York at

Outstanding Class Awards for 2022

Outstanding Freshman, Sophomore, Junior and Senior Awards - $1,500 each

One student in each class is selected on academics (60%) and leadership (40%), and nominated for College of Agriculture awards. Students who qualify with a cumulative GPA of 3.25 or higher are eligible to apply.