Axelrod Distinguished Lecture Series

About the Axelrod Lectures

Dr. Bernard Axelrod served as Head of the Department of Biochemistry. His efforts were instrumental in founding the biochemistry program at Purdue University. On the occasion of his 70th birthday, colleagues and friends established this lectureship in honor of Dr. Axelrod’s many contributions to the field of biochemistry and its community of scientists. Dr. Axelrod passed away in 2011 at the age of 97.

2024 Axelrod Lecturer

  More information to come

Past Axelrod Lecturers

2023 Jerry Workman, Stowers Institute for Medical Research

2022 Ning Zheng, University of Washington

2019 Jennifer Nemhauser, University of Washington

2017 Bruce Yankner, Harvard Medical School

2016 Mark Hochstrasser, Yale University

2015 Craig Peterson, University of Massachusetts Medical School

2014 Kathy Gould, Vanderbilt University

2013 Fred Winston, Harvard Medical School

2012 Dan Tawfik, The Weizman Institute of Science

2011 Thomas Cech, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, University of Colorado-Boulder

2010 Robert T. Sauer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2009 Lee Hood, Institute for Systems Biology, Seattle, Washington

2008 Jasper Rine, University of California, Berkeley

2007 Olke Uhlenbeck, Northwestern University

2005 Carol Greider, Johns Hopkins University of Medicine

2003 Stephen Kent, University of Chicago

2001 Winslow Briggs, Carnegie Institute of Washington at Stanford University

2001 Gregory A. Petsko, Brandeis University

1997 Prof. Klaus Hahlbrock, Max Planck Institute, Cologne

1997 Aziz Sancar, University of North Carolina

1995 Paul Nurse, Imperial Cancer Research Fund, London

1995 Dr. Danny Reinberg, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

1994 Arthur Kornberg, Stanford University, School of Medicine, Stanford, CA

1993 Hugh R. B. Pelham, Laboratory of Molecular Biology Medical Research Council, Cambridge, England

1992 Walter Neupert, University of Munich

1991 Robert Roeder, The Rockefeller University

1990 Edmond H. Fischer, University of Washington

1989 Phillip A. Sharp, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

1988 Keith R. Yamamoto, University of California, San Francisco

1988 Jeremy R. Knowles, Harvard University

1986 Howard K. Schachman, University of California at Berkeley

1985 Seymour Benzer, California Institute of Technology​