Corinne Alexander Spirit of the Land-Grant Mission Award


Dr. Corinne Alexander (1971-2016), an outstanding researcher, mentor, and teacher was a driving force in her field and passionately committed to her work. Corinne was a Professor of Agricultural Economics and Extension Economist. Amongst her many areas of research, Dr. Alexander left her mark on price risk management and new marketing tools for new generation grain marketing contracts. She also contributed to research on marketing value-added products, with a focus on food-grade grains and organic products.

Dr. Alexander was very passionate about her career and poured that passion into research, outreach, and teaching. She was a committed and loving mentor to both undergraduate and graduate students and was passionate about working with farmers and improving food security globally.


The purpose of the Purdue Agriculture Corinne Alexander Spirit of the Land-Grant Mission Award is to recognize faculty for excellence in integrating and promoting our core missions of discovery, engagement, and learning.  This award is to highlight and celebrate faculty who have successfully developed an integrated, comprehensive program that advances our three missions nationally and/or internationally.

In recognition of this award, the recipient will receive $10,000 to support his/her program along with an honorarium of $1500 (less taxes).  The recipient will be expected to deliver a presentation describing his/her integrated program in the Fall of 2024.


Tenured and tenure-track faculty in the College of Agriculture, College of Veterinary Medicine, and College of Health and Human Sciences that are supported in whole or part by Hatch, Smith-Lever, McIntire-Stennis, and/or Animal Health funding are eligible for this award.


Nominations must 1) identify the importance of the nominee's contributions to discovery, engagement, and learning, 2) define how they are integrated, and 3) describe the value of their integration at the local, regional, national, and/or international level.  A strong connection between each of the mission areas and the impact of the faculty member's integrated program must be clearly demonstrated.


  1. Nomination Cover Letter.  A cover letter should provide justification for the nomination and describe the importance and value of the integrated program. Nominators may be department heads, faculty, or staff.  Self-nominations will also be accepted.  A statement of support from the department head of the nominee is strongly encouraged.
  2. Nomination Content (single-spaced, 12-pt-Arial font, 1" margins, 5-page maximum)
    1. SUMMARY: Clearly justify and describe the integrated program including major achievements and impacts.
    2. PROGRAM DESCRIPTION: Describe the integrated program and identify how the core mission areas are specifically integrated.
    3. PROGRAM IMPACT: List major contributions (significant outreach projects initiated, key research findings, outstanding teaching, international collaborations, etc.) and briefly describe their significance.  What differences have the nominee's program made?  How does the program impact citizens in Indiana, nationally, and/or internationally?  What funding and scholarly activities have resulted from the integrated program?
    4. PROGRAM PARTNERSHIPS: Describe what partnerships were formed with other academic institutions, industry groups, and/or government groups, to help make the integrated program successful.
  3. Supplementary Information
    1. NOMINEE'S CV (limited to 2-pages, single-spaced)
    2. SUPPORTING LETTERS.  There should be two supporting letters (excluding the nomination letter), including at least one from outside Purdue University.  These should address how the person's integrated program positively impacts his/her field or discipline. 

The application packet should be sent by email to Julia Jones at in the College of Agriculture Dean's Office. Applications should be arranged in the following order:

  • Nomination cover letter
  • Nomination content (5-page limit)
  • Nominee's CV (2-page limit)
  • Supporting letters

Due Date:           5:00 pm, Friday, March 1, 2024
Contact:              Julia Jones, 

Previous Recipients
List of Spirit of the Land Grant Award Winners
2023 Dr. Thomas Hertel, Distinguished Professor of Agricultural Economics
2022 Dr. Bill Johnson, Professor of Botany and Plant Pathology
2021 Dr. Eileen Kladivko, Professor of Agronomy
2020 Dr. Bruce Hamaker, Food Science
2019 Dr. Haley Oliver, Food Science
2018 Dr. Douglass Jacobs, Forestry and Natural Resources
2017 Dr. Maria Marshall, Agricultural Economics
2016 Dr. Linda Prokopy, Forestry and Natural Resources
2014 Dr. Kevin Keener, Food Science
2013 Dr. Ron Turco, Agronomy
2012 Dr. Connie Weaver, Distinguished Professor of Nutrition Science
2011 Dr. Brad Joern​, Agronomy
2010 Dr. Sylvie Brouder, Agronomy
2009 Dr. Bill Field, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
2008 Dr. Alan Sutton, Animal Science