Skip to Main Content

Dr. Bowling Recipient of Excellence in College and University Teaching Award for Food and Agricultural Sciences

The Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) and U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) today honored a number of public university faculty with national teaching awards recognizing excellence in agricultural sciences teaching and student engagement. The awards, which celebrate university faculty for their quality of teaching, service to students, the teaching profession, and scholarship of teaching and learning, will be presented as part of the 136th APLU Annual Meeting.



Six regional and two early-career awardees were also named recipients of the 2023 Excellence in College and University Teaching Awards for Food and Agricultural Sciences. Among them was Dr. Laura Bowling, Professor of Agronomy. In recognition of her scholarship, exemplary pedagogy, and dedication to instruction, the annual award includes a stipend of $2,000 to be used for teaching improvements.

“We applaud the 2023 winners of the Excellence in College and University Teaching Awards for Food and Agricultural Sciences,” said Wendy Fink, Executive Director of the Academic Programs Section at APLU. “Through their dedicated and focused passion in mentoring and instruction, they serve as inspirational leaders for their students and other faculty striving to serve their students better.”


Learn more about the other recipients

Related News

Claire King waters her quinoa in the greenhouse.
Claire King named a Golden Opportunity Scholar

It’s easy to imagine the whole of agriculture as a giant feast sprawled out on an equally...

Read More
table setting with bowl of popcorn and fall decorations
Celebrating Food from Purdue Alumni - Orville Redenbacher

It’s difficult to picture what grocery stores, restaurant menus and dinner plates would...

Read More
Field with tar spot
Fighting Tar Spot, A New Foe for Farmers

The strange black circles began appearing on corn leaves in Indiana’s Cass and Carroll...

Read More
distinguished and named professors at ceremony
Dr. Ma Honored at Distinguished and Named Professorship Ceremony

Dr. Jianxin Ma, Professor of Agronomy, and Indiana Soybean Alliance Endowed Chair in Soybean...

Read More
plantago plant in greenhouse
Science IRL Features Agronomy Research on Plantago

YouTube channel Science IRL's latest video features Dr. Cankui Zhang's lab and their...

Read More
Gebisa Ejeta shaking hands with President Biden after receive the National Medal of Science
Dr. Gebisa Ejeta Awarded National Medal of Science

Dr. Gebisa Ejeta, Distinguished Professor of Agronomy, was awarded the National Medal of Science...

Read More
To Top