Skip to Main Content

Purdue Agriculture 2022 TEAM Award honors Extension Succession Planning Team

Created in 1995, the Purdue Agriculture TEAM Award honors the interdisciplinary team achievements of faculty and staff each year. The 2022 TEAM Award has been presented to the Purdue Extension Succession Planning Team

Helping farming and small business families in some of their greatest moments of need, the Purdue Extension educators and specialists on the Succession Planning Team have worked since 2011 to navigate the process of transferring ownership of the company to continue the family’s legacy. The TEAM award honors the team’s efforts to cultivate strong Indiana farm families through the succession planning process.  

The Succession Planning Team offers regional workshops and visits family farms to assist in the often-complex process of passing down a family business. Some of the topics covered are financial skills, communication strategies, business structures and risk management tools. Fees for the team’s services are significantly reduced due to grant funding by the North Central Extension Risk Management Education Center. 

TEAM award

The Succession Planning Team Extension members include: Heather Caldwell, Linda Curly, Miranda Edge, Ed Farris, Kelly Heckaman, Nicholas Held, Michael Langemeier, Maria Marshall, Jenna Nees, Jeff Pell, Krista Pullen, Denise Schroeder, Kyle Weaver and Renee Wiatt.  

The team was presented with the 2022 TEAM Award on Friday, January 27 during a celebration in the Deans' Auditorium in Pfendler Hall. 

Featured Stories

purdue pete group shot
Boilermaker Vegetable Season Pass returns for 2023 season

“As a family, we look forward to weekly pickups at the student farm -- everyone gets...

Read More
krystal hans
"Societal Impact Fellows and Scholarship of Engagement Fellows Programs" feat. Krystal Hans

The Office of Engagement offers multiple ways for Purdue faculty and staff to use their work to...

Read More
Dog on campus at Purdue University
Lack of canine COVID-19 data fuels persisting concerns over dog-human interactions

Early COVID-19 pandemic suspicions about the resistance of dogs to the disease have given way to...

Read More
2022 AFS Meritorious Service Award honoree Tom Lang, Dr. Eva Haviarova - a Society of Wood Science and Technology woman ambassador, and sophomore wildlife major Gabby Dennis with a glaucous-winged gull chick.
FNR Year in Review 2022: The People

The 2022 calendar year saw several FNR faculty, staff, students and alumni represent the...

Read More
Dr. Laura Bowling in the field with students
Charles B. Murphy Award presented to Dr. Laura Bowling

Charles B. Murphy Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award presented to Dr. Laura Bowling, the...

Read More
Eastern white pine trees
Intro to Trees of Indiana: Eastern White Pine

Meet the eastern white pine or Pinus strobus, the only five-needled pine native to Indiana. Each...

Read More
To Top