Areas of Global Engagement

​Purdue's College of Agriculture maintains a global vision and an eagerness to engage and collaborate with partners far beyond America's borders. College of Agriculture faculty, staff and students currently work, study and engage on six continents. In recent years, IPIA has helped to extend the College's global reach to more than 100 countries and College of Agriculture alumni can be found in most of these places. In our own hemisphere, research and capacity building efforts began in Brazil more than 50 years ago, and continue to this day. Recent and ongoing academic exchanges and research in the Americas also include efforts in Colombia, Costa Rica, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Peru, and Puerto Rico.

The College of Agriculture has decades of experience working in Eastern and Southern Africa, with major efforts currently underway in Kenya, Malawi, Mozambique, Tanzania, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. Our research in the Horn of Africa includes major crop breeding and institution building efforts in Eritrea, Ethiopia, and Somalia. Similar work to strengthen agricultural systems and markets in North, West and Central Africa includes efforts in Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cote d'Ivoire, Egypt, Ghana, Mali, Morocco, Niger, Nigeria, and Senegal. In South Asia, IPIA supported more than a decade of work in Afghanistan, focused on helping to strengthen higher education and the private sector, and our portfolio of activities in Bangladesh, India, Nepal, and Pakistan include a wide range of research on topics stretching from crop breeding to the impacts of roads and markets. New work on food safety in Cambodia and nutrition research in Lao PDR complement past work in Southeast Asia, including collaborations with researchers in China, Indonesia, the Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam.

Finally, College of Agriculture faculty are active participants in collaborative research throughout Europe and Central Asia, with recent partnerships in Austria, Belarus, Bulgaria, Croatia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Poland, Romania, Russia, Slovenia, Tajikistan, and Ukraine.