Skip to Main Content

The Hardwood Ecosystem Experiment, a 100-year study, receives the Purdue Agriculture 2023 TEAM Award

The Purdue Agriculture TEAM Award has honored an interdisciplinary team annually since 1995, based on the maxim, “Together Everyone Achieves More.” The 2023 awardees belong to the Hardwood Ecosystem Experiment (HEE), a 100-year study on the effects of forest management on plants, animals and fungi.

The HEE studies several complex, connected aspects of forests in Indiana and the Central Hardwoods Region. Major areas of research are forestry dynamics, digital forestry, acorn production, birds, bats and other small mammals, salamanders, wood-boring beetles, moths, prescribed fires and ectomycorrhizal fungi. This work has directly informed state environmental policy and forest management. 

Extension and outreach are fundamental to the HEE. Professional training, education, public engagement, and over 80 scientific and extension publications have been impacted by HEE research and provided invaluable information to resource managers and scientists across the Midwest.

“The Hardwood Ecosystem Experiment team has not only produced an incredible portfolio of research, but they have also done a superior job in sharing the information they have gathered with those who can apply it in Indiana’s forests and beyond,” said Bernie Engel, Glenn W. Sample Dean of Agriculture. 

The HEE team members from Purdue honored by the award are: Cathie Aime, John “Barny” Dunning, Songlin Fei, Elizabeth Flaherty, Jeff Holland, Mike Jenkins, Mike Saunders, Rob Swihart, Patrick Zollner and Charlotte Owings. Their work crosses over the areas of Botany & Plant Pathology, Entomology, Forestry and Natural Resources and the Institute for Digital Forestry. Kamal Islam, Joy O’Keefe and Kieth Summerville from Ball State University, the University of Illinois, and Drake University, respectively, are also award-winning project members.
Awardees of the TEAMS Award Pictured in Pfendler Some members of the Hardwood Ecosystem Experiment were able to accept the Purdue Agriculture TEAM Award in-person on January 10th, 2024, in the Deans' Auditorium in Pfendler. Pictured (from left to right) are Rob Swihart, Elizabeth Flaherty, Mike Jenkins, Songlin Fei, Mike Saunders, Charlotte Owings, Jeff Holland and John (Barny) Dunning.

Featured Stories

Purdue's bell tower stands tall behind a foreground of purple petunias
Purdue agriculture professors named AAAS Fellows

Purdue College of Agriculture professors Songlin Fei and Tesfaye Mengiste have been named fellows...

Read More
almonds on a table with almond milk
Homemade nut-based dairy analogs raise questions about bacterial risks

Many consumers know the food safety risks of dairy products, eggs and raw meat. But they are less...

Read More
Students working in the Skidmore Lab inside Nelson Hall of Food Science.
CH4 Global partners with Food Entrepreneurship and Manufacturing Institute to combat methane emissions in the cattle industry

The Food Entrepreneurship and Manufacturing Institute (FEMI), housed within Purdue...

Read More
Purdue MANRRS pose with chapter of the year award at MANRRS38
Purdue MANRRS receives chapter of the year award at national conference, making history

For the first time since its founding in 1990, the Purdue University College of...

Read More
A bottle of Boiler Bee Honey sits on the edge of chrome table in Skidmore lab with two students cooking in labcoats and hairnets in the background.
The sweet (and spicy) taste of victory—National Honey Board funds a food science development competition at Purdue

In the past few years, specialty sauces like hot honey combined the classic warm, sweet feeling...

Read More
lab grown meat
Survey tallies consumer attitudes toward lab-grown meat alternatives

Many consumers view conventional meats as both tastier and healthier than laboratory-grown...

Read More
To Top