Second generation boilermaker found experiences by saying “Yes” 

Name: Cassidy Colbert  

Hometown: Tipton, Indiana  

Major: Agribusiness  

Minors and Certificate: Event and Meeting Management; Certificate in Entrepreneurship  

Why did you come to Purdue: Purdue has always felt like home. Both of my parents went to Purdue and so did my four older siblings. I grew up on a farm and have always been interested in agriculture. Purdue had the courses I was interested in taking and was the only school I wanted to go to.  

Favorite Purdue tradition: One of my favorite traditions at Purdue is getting a Den pop.  


Top three influences at Purdue  

  1. a major influence while at Purdue has been the study abroad program. I have had the opportunity to visit Italy, France, and hopefully visit one more location.  
  2. Another major influence has been the friends I have made throughout the years.  
  3. My advisor, Andy, has been one of the most influential people. He keeps me on track to graduate while helping me make the most of my time at Purdue. 


Top five memories of your time at Purdue  

  1. Purdue football games and tailgates  
  2. traveling to Italy and France on study abroad’s  
  3. going to Harrys for my 21st  
  4. sledding down Slater Hill with friends 
  5. Being a mentor for the College of Ag freshmen for 3 years.  


Places you have been as a Purdue student: Through my time at Purdue, I have been on two study abroad’s. One to Italy and another to France. I have had three internships with Co-Alliance and Cargill. I have been a field scout, Ag tech/scout coordinator, and grain origination sales. 

Favorite club/organization: Purdue Envoys  

Favorite Student-led event/initiative: Ag Week  


Favorite Purdue event: Football games  

Favorite place on campus: Ross Ade stadium 

Favorite place to study: Union 

Favorite thing about the College of Ag:  My favorite thing about the college of ag would be the friendships and opportunities that are available. Everyone you meet is willing to lend a hand and help in any way possible.    

Favorite class: AGRY 375 

Favorite teacher: Lee Schweitzer  

Three biggest accomplishments at Purdue:  

  1. My biggest accomplishment is being asked to join Purdue Envoys. 
  2. Creating the diamond and denim ball for the college of ag  
  3. Being an officer for Collegiate 4-h  

Something about you that is not listed on your resume: Something about me that is not on my resume would be that I am the youngest of 5 kids. 

Future Plans: I hope to one day end up working in the Ag industry. 


Advice for lower classmen: I would advise all lower classmen to join clubs that they are interested in, spend time with friends, and study abroad. 


Biggest takeaway from Purdue:  You can always find a new friend, travel to new places, and gain new experiences just by saying yes.