​​​​​​​​​​​​​Farm​ Policy Study Group Presentations

Below are the available Farm Policy Study Group presentations, listed by meeting date. Please note that not all of the presentations are available in electronic format. For information related to this group, contact Dr. Ken Foster, kfoster@purdue.edu.

December 5, 2023

JULY 11, 2023

DECEMBER 6, 2022

  • Meeting Summary (PDF)
  • Meeting Agenda (PDF)
  • Presentations
    • How to Make Happiness and Well-Being the Purpose of Your Government (PDF)
      • Dr. Rhonda Phillips, Professor of Agricultural Economics, Dean John Martinson Honors College, Purdue University
    • Procedures and Expectations for a 2023 Farm Bill (PDF)
      • Matt Erickson, Economic and Policy Advisor for Farm Credit Services of America
    • Economic and Agricultural Impacts of Decarbonizing the US Economy (PDF)
      • Dr. Farzad Taheripour, Research Professor of Agricultural Economics, Purdue University

July 12, 2022

  • Meeting Summary (PDF)
  • Meeting Agenda (PDF)
  • Presentations:
    • Indiana Property Taxes in 2022 and Beyond (PDF)
      • Dr. Larry DeBoer, Professor Emeritus, Department of Agricultural Economics at Purdue University
    • Economic and Agricultural Impacts of the Russian Invasion of Ukraine (PDF)
      • Dr. Maksym Chepeliev, Research Economist, Center for Global Trade Analysis, Department of Agricultural Economics at Purdue University
    •  Farmland Market Update (PDF)
      • Dr. Todd Kuethe, Shrader Chair in Farmland Economics, Department of Agricultural Economics at Purdue University

December 14, 2021

July 13, 2021

December 8, 2020

July 7, 2020

December 10, 2019

July 19, 2019

December 4, 2018

July 10, 2018

December 5, 2017

July 11, 2017

December 6, 2016

  • Emerging Agricultural Technology, Labor Markets, and Societal Impacts
    • Dr. Marshall A. Martin, Assistant Dean, College of Agriculture; Senior Associate Director, Agricultural Research at Purdue; Professor of Agricultural Economics
  • 20 Year Outlook for Rural Infrastructure in Indiana
    • Ed Ebert, Senior Director of Grain Production and Utilization, Indiana Soybean Alliance and Indiana Corn Marketing Council
    • Dr. Bob McCullouch, Indiana Local Technical Assistance Program (LTAP), Program Manager, Purdue University
    • Jamie Palmer, Director, Indiana Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations and Senior Policy Analyst, Indiana University Public Policy Institute 
    • Dr. Jerome Dumortier, Assistant Professor, School of Public and Environmental Affairs, Indiana University – Purdue University Indianapolis
    • John Ketzenberger, President, Indiana Fiscal Policy Institute

July 12, 2​​016

Dec​ember 8, 2015

  • Waters of the US: Regulatory, Political, Institutional and Nutrient Management Issues
    • Dr. Otto Doering, Professor Agricultural Economics, Purdue University
    • Dr. Ron Turco, Professor of Agronomy and Director of the Purdue Global Sustainability Institute in Discovery Park, Purdue University  
  • Trans-Pacific Partnership, Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership, and World Trade Organization: What do we know or not about these proposed trade agreements?
    • Dr. Phil Abbott, Professor of Agricultural Economics, Purdue University
  • Diversified Food Systems: Adding Local to the Mix
    • Jodee Ellett, Local Foods Coordinator for Purdue Extension
    • Roy Ballard, Agriculture and Natural Resource Educator, Hancock County, and Indiana SARE Coordinator​

July 7, 2015

December 9, 2014

Jul​y 8, 2014

  • Update on Indiana Tax Policies
    • Dr. Larry DeBoer, Professor of Agricultural Economics, Purdue University
  • Indiana Rural Development
    • Dr. Janet Ayres, Professor of Agricultural Economics, Purdue University
    • Dr. Lionel "Bo" Beaulieu, Director of the Purdue Center for Regional Development; Professor of Agricultural Economics, Purdue University

Dec​ember 12, 2013

July 9, 2013

Decem​ber 11, 2012

  • ​The Drought of 2012: Lessons on Climate Change?
    • Dr. Dev Niyogi, State Climatologist and Department of Agronomy, Purdue University
  • Crop Loss Prevention
    • Dr. Linda Prokopy, Department of Forestry and Natural Resources, Purdue University
  • Policy Choices for Indiana’s Future: An Educated Workforce, an Environmentally Sound Energy Policy, and a Balanced Budget 
    • John Krauss, Director, Indiana University Public Policy Institute and an attorney with a faculty appointment in the IU School of Public and Environmental Affairs and IU McKinney School of Law. He was Deputy Mayor of Indianapolis under Mayor Bill Hudnut.
    • Randall Shepard, former Chief Justice of the Indiana Supreme Court, Chair IU Public Policy Board of Advisors, and Executive in Residence at the IU Public Policy Institute
    • Dr. Wally Tyner, James & Lois Ackerman Professor, Department of Agricultural Economics, Purdue University and Co- Chair of the Energy and Environment Commission
    • Kathy Davis, former Lt. Governor and State Budget Director, Owner of Davis Design Group LLC, and Co-Chair of the State and Local Tax Policy Commission