Skip to Main Content

Backs Tabbed for Chase Osborn Award in Wildlife Conservation

The Chase S. Osborn Award in Wildlife Conservation, is presented by Purdue Forestry and Natural Resources to an individual who, by writing, research, teaching or other personal accomplishments has made significant contributions to wildlife conservation in the state of Indiana.

Steve Backs, a wildlife research biologist with the Indiana Department of Natural Resources Division of Fish and Wildlife, is the 2020 recipient of the Chase S. Osborn Award. Backs, who has been with the DNR since 1979, has a long history of conservation efforts, researching gamebirds, forest wildlife habitats, deer, other wildlife species and the elimination of wild pigs.

“As I told Jim Eagleman and Dick Davis when they communicated to me their intent to nominate me, I was humbled to think some of my peers, in their retirement, thought enough to nominate me for the award, let along the deep humble sense I feel in receiving such an award,” Backs said. “Much of the credit goes to the many great mentors I had at FNR during my time there (Drs. Kirkpatrick, Allen, Mumford, Weeks, Parker, Merritt, to name just a few), some from my graduate school days, and the many co-workers and professional peers around the country who all unknowingly provided me valuable opportunities to glean knowledge from their careers and experiences, and to a family willing to accept the “costs” of my vocation.”Chase S. Osborn

During his career with the Indiana DNR, Backs has acted as the project leader working with ruffed grouse and wild turkey populations as well with the state Wild Pig Elimination Project. In a separate role, as Furbearer and Farmland Wildlife Research project leader, he monitored populations of Northern bobwhite quail, American woodcock, raccoons and coyotes and developed necessary responses for the DNR.

Backs began his career with the Indiana DNR in 1974, working as a biologist aide in a seasonal capacity for three years, while completing his undergraduate degree in wildlife science at Purdue (1976). He went on to become a wildlife research biologist on the bobwhite quail project, a position he held from for two years after finishing his master’s degree at Vermont in the spring of 1979.

In his nomination of Backs, Jim Eagleman, retired DNR naturalist and natural resources consultant, had this to say about his former colleague.

“In his 40+ year career in conservation, I can’t think of a more devoted advocate for Indiana land conservation and management. It’s on healthy lands that species exploit and flourish. As a land manager, he has seen this first hand and it is what continues to excite him. Often a target for preservationists, undeterred, he has always been motivated by what is best for the resource.”

In addition to his work with the DNR, Backs has acted as a manuscript and publications reviewer for a variety of national organizations and has been a part of more than 40 technical publications and reports of his own.

He also has been a part of the steering committee for the Woodland Wildlife Stewardship Workshops put on Purdue Extension, and also for the National Wild Turkey Symposiums. Backs is active in the Midwest Deer and Wild Turkey study group, the Ruffed Grouse Southern Range research and study group, the Midwest Feral Swine committee, the National Wild Pig Task Force and with the Indiana Academy of Science and The Wildlife Society among others.

The Osborn Award is far from the first honor for Backs. Most recently, he received the Indiana Chapter of The Wildlife Society’s lifetime achievement award, the Hoosier Wildlife Award, in 2013. He earned the Wayne Bailey Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Wild Turkey Federation in 2010. He also has been honored by the Hoosier National Forest, the Thornton Memorial Boys and Girls Club and Shikar Safari International over the course of his career with awards ranging from Making Tracks Partnership Award to Outstanding Adult Volunteer to Wildlife Officer of the Year.

Within the Indiana DNR, Backs garnered the Director’s Service Recognition Award three times (1996, 2008 and 2009). He also was named Biologist of the Year in 1996.

In his spare time, Backs has volunteered in the community through the Thornton Memorial Boys Club in Bedford, Indiana; the United Way of Lawrence County and as an umpire/official with the Indiana High School Athletic Association and for Little League state district tournaments.

The Osborn Award was established in 1953 by former Purdue president Edward Elliott, a lifelong friend of Osborn. The recipient typically would have been honored at the FNR spring awards banquet. With COVID-19 cancelling the 2020 banquet, Backs will be recognized at the 2021 banquet.

Backs’ honor follows that of Susan Ulrich in 2019. A full list of Osborn Award honorees is below.

2020 – Steve Backs
2019 – Susan Ulrich
2017 - Dr. Benjamin Pauli
1997 - David C. Hudak
1995 – Dennis McGrath
1992 – Emily Kress
1988 – Charles E. Scheffe
1987 – Herbert C. Krauch
1986 – William Harold Zimerman
1984 – Harold E. McReynolds
1982 – Dr. Russell Mumford
1981 – Robert Kern
1980 – James E. Rice
1979 – Frank Lockard
1977 – Dr. Durward L. Allen
1976 – Warren S. Rowe
1975 – Carl Aaron Nigh
1974 – Robert Owen Petty
1973 – John A. Hillenbrand II
1972 – John O. Holwager
1971 – Robert L Cockrane
1970 – Homer D. Brenneman
1969 – Bill Neal Scifres
1968 – Alton A. Lindsey
1967 – Woodrow W. Fleming
1966 – Dwight Gallimore
1965 – Thomas E. Dustin
1964 – Will E. Madden
1963 – L.E. Sawyer
1962 - John L. Sample
1960 - Louis H. Dusten
1959 – Professor and Mrs. Howard H. Michaud
1955 – William Barnes
1953 – Kenneth M. Kunkel

Featured Stories

Purdue University to host 2024 Mandela Washington Fellowship for Young African Leaders

Purdue University College of Agriculture is proud to announce its selection as an Institute...

Read More
Professor Widhalm reviews data from weather station.
New tool helps users track fruit-plant readiness for growing season

Purdue University’s Midwestern Regional Climate Center (MRCC) has launched its new...

Read More
AI Team
AI & Climate: A First Of Its Kind Conversation On The Hill

AI2 partnered with the Bezos Earth Fund on a landmark event focused on AI & Climate with...

Read More
Indiana Small Farm Conference to take place Feb. 29 through March 1 at the Hendricks County Fairgrounds

There’s still time to register for the 2024 Indiana Small Farm Conference. The 12th annual...

Read More
Stephen Meyers shows Carlos Antonio López Manzano some interesting aspects of their mother mint plant.
Returning to his roots: Stephen Meyers and the land-grant mission

If you’re cruising through northern Indiana in late summer or early fall, roll down your...

Read More
heart healthy food
New year brought increased consumer interest in food and nutrition resolutions

Food or nutrition-related New Year’s resolutions were more popular among consumers going...

Read More
To Top